LAFAYETTE PARK, OXFORD, NEW YORK... A SUNDAY OUTING #BEAUTIFULSUNDAY #SUBLIMESUNDAY

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE3 years ago (edited)

It was cold this morning at dawn, a brisk 19 degrees, the sun barely peeked over the horizon and then it was gone again behind a curtain of grey clouds. I would have liked the sun to stick around for a while but the morning stayed glum, no sun or shadows to be found.

After morning chores were done, I decided to grab my camera and go for a ride. I have been into taking rides lately, you see, Santa brought me a new car . Yup, I must have been a really good girl this year. I was thrilled. Of course now I have to figure out the new "stuff", in the new car, so I just have to keep driving and reading the 500 page owner's manual, NOT at the same time though, that would be dumb.😅

So off I go. While traveling on the quiet country road , the sun muscled her way out from behind the clouds to say a quick hello.

IMG_5886.JPG

Where did I go, you ask? Well I'll tell you all about it. About 12 miles from our #homestead is a small town named Oxford. According to Wikipedia, as of 2018 the population of Oxford was 3,701 with an area of 60.40 sq. miles.

In the village, a town square park, called Lafayette Park is surrounded by small shops and restaurants. People there are very laid back and friendly.

Oxford New York.

Historic Origins of Oxford NY. "Rich history is a source of local pride". Oxford is one of the townships of the "Chenango Twenty Towns" ceded to NY State by the Oneida Indians in a treaty made by Governor George Clinton at Fort Schuyler, (Utica), September 22, 1788.

Historic Origins of Oxford, NY
oxfordny.com/about/yesterday/index.php

IMG_5862.JPG

Lafayette park is always seasonally decorated. During the warm months it's a great place to shop for local produce, arts and crafts, local honey, fresh eggs and cut flowers. It's nice to just sit with a cup of coffee and people watch.

IMG_5869.JPG

IMG_5863.JPG

If I get the munchies, there are several places to grab a bite. Hoppie's is famous for their over stuffed sandwiches. Chicken salad is always my go to, they put walnuts and cranberries in their special mix and I am never disappointed.

IMG_5874.JPG

I have not dined inside for months now, but I have reflected upon it.🤷‍♀😏😉

IMG_5881.JPG

IMG_5876.JPG

Another favorite eatery of mine is this place, Roma, great Italian cuisine. Best calamari I have found any where near our place. Their wine list is pretty extensive also, but I usually pick a local wine in the end, there are quite a few wineries in the area. I enjoy buying from the locals. I figure I'll drink the expensive wine when I visit Italy. 😂 Then Paris, France. 🤣

IMG_5880.JPG

Oxford hosts a winter farmer's market at the local church. I would pop in there once in a while, to see what was happening, but because of the covid thing, it's been out of commission until further notice. I just wish someone would fix the flag. Maybe @splatts can stop in with his telescope bucket thingy.

IMG_5879.JPG

This little village has it's very own...

IMG_5883.JPG

A nice place for our furry friends...

IMG_5882.JPG

A very old building with all the modern gizmos inside to get you back to good health.

IMG_5878.JPG

It seems stone was used every where in this town to build structures. This is called the Bank Building, built in 1894. An impressive structure, that has with stood harsh winters, heavy rains and baking sun.

IMG_5860.JPG

I can't figure out these carvings, spooky don't you think?

IMG_5867.JPG

So I guess it was a bank, hence "Bank Building" hoho. Now it houses the big police department, number of officers 6, the town records, and clerk, as well as several Lawyers.

All kidding aside, it is quite an interesting, almost majestic building in such a small village.

The ride home was pleasant, with the ever changing skies and big red barns.

IMG_5889.JPG

I scooted past the club,
people around these parts love their guns, their rods and their cross bows. Lots of hunting happens here.

IMG_5890.JPG

A big shout out to @ace108 and @cOff33a, thanks for inspiring me to enjoy my Sundays with a keener eye. Hope you both are well and happy.

Happy New Year to all my friends in this crazy #hive world. 🍾🍹😇

Sort:  

Love the good old small town charm in America.
Any chance we get to see the new wheels? 😎
Enjoy your ride.

Hi there @ace108, nice to hear from you.
Hope you are well.

So here's my new Ford Edge, I am enjoying it very much.

IMG_2046.JPG

Have a wonderful week.

Santa told me to tell you that this yea's gift covers the next 10 holidays.

Gee ,only 10 holidays, I think that's more than fair.🤓

Your post has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!
Try https://ecency.com and Earn Points in every action (being online, posting, commenting, reblog, vote and more).
Boost your earnings, double reward, double fun! 😉

Support Ecency, in our mission:
Ecency: https://ecency.com/proposals/141
Hivesigner: Vote for Proposal

Thanks for the support.
Voted yes for proposal 141.

Thank you for your vote! 🙇

A very nice little town, a wonderful walk it turned out!