Teddy Bear Sunflowers: One Of Many New Additions This Year

In my quest to have not only colorful, yet practical, gardens around the homestead this year, I have been adding some new seeds (flowers and herbs) to my sowing days. I'm not looking for everyday flowers to grow either. I like to find ones that are unique and unusual; but also have somewhat of a multi purpose for myself, or others. The first flower I want to share are these Teddy Bear Sunflowers.


tb.jfif

What attracted me to these were the way they didn't resemble a sunflower that I'm used to. These have a pom-pom look to them and I was entranced with their beauty. After finding these on Etsy, I was searching for more in different colors; but unfortunately yellow is the only color I could find available for purchase. But now that I know about these, I'll be keeping an eye out for more.

Even though the packet said 10-15 days to germinate, out of the five seeds that I sowed all but one have popped up within six days of sowing the seeds. I received 24 seeds in this packet and am hesitant to plant all of them; in case, I am unable to harvest some of the seeds for future gardening seasons.

tb3.jfif

These sunflowers are dwarf in size and will grow between two and three feet in height; which is perfect for the burst of color that I'm seeking for my herb garden this year. They'll tower over the oregano, lemon balm. mints and basils.

While this is more of an ornamental flower, I know it will attract bees and other pollinators. Spring is here, while you'd never know it from the weather some days, but just sowing seeds over the last week have me daydreaming for getting outside and getting my hands back into the soil, feeling the sun shine down upon me and to enjoy seeing my garden grow.

So far I have sowed two varieties of nasturtiums, three different varieties of calendula, marsh mallow (to replenish what I harvested last year), amaranth (which is also new to me this year) and a wide variety of herbs. I can never have enough parsley, basil, dill, chives or lavender to harvest every autumn.

As for the moment, I am waiting for a few more days, or perhaps weeks, until I can get outdoors and start churning the soil and preparing it for all the seedlings I will have. I have again decided to forgo planting peppers and tomatoes in the gardens this year. I have been purchasing those through a local farmer in the fall when I am ready to can marinara sauce, diced tomatoes, salsa and pepperoncinis. By doing this, it allows me more space for my herbs and flowers.

Keep an eye out over the next week for more flowers and herbs that I'll be cultivating this spring in my gardens.


This post was made from https://ulogs.org

.

Sort:  

Attractive little pom-pom flower to entice bees into the garden, look interesting, wishing you luck they perform well.

Spring time is garden time, I normally start seedlings end of winter so another good few months to go. Now avid gardeners up North will start sharing more gardens.

@tipu curate

Yay! it's @goldendawne ! And with flower pictures too! I will be watching for your posts, as I've missed them. :))

Congratulations @goldendawne! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 950 posts.
Your next target is to reach 1000 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the April 1st Hive Power Up Day

I grew a few of these last year to compliment the 6ft ones, they were really nice in clumps in the border.
Have grown them again this year, a couple of trays full nicely sprouting in the greenhouse

Thank you for choosing to publish your content to The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE Community, however we have recently undergone a complete revamp and re-brand (from PHC to Lifestyle Lounge) and the outline of suitable content for this community has changed dramatically. You can read THIS post to get a clearer idea of what type of content is now suitable for publishing in our community, or you can skip straight to the new community guidelines HERE

Hope to see you in our feed again with some awesome lifestyle content!

Please note that content which is not suited to the Lifestyle Lounge community will be muted – thank you for your understanding.

ll.png
JOIN US ON DISCORD
SUBSCRIBE TO THE LIFESTYLE LOUNGE COMMUNITY HERE
JOIN US ON TWITTER