You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Large and Tall Living: A Very Long Flight in the Middle Seat!

I'm not really tall, just 5' 7" (I shrunk an inch in old age) but my intern is 5' 10". She says there's pluses and minuses to being so tall. She's often taken for being a lot older than she is. My helper is 6' 3" and the young man who comes to help sometimes is 6' 4". he said being so tall and growing so fast to that height damaged his knees. He's had surgery on both of them.

I find standard kitchen counter a real pain in the back. That's why my island is 5" higher. That's where I will be doing standing work. When the clean room sink is installed it will be 5" higher also.

Sort:  

The knee issues do seem to come with the territory. I played a lot of football (soccer) when I was younger, and I ran cross country races. I pay the price today, with occasionally painful joints.

IF I ever get to a point where I'll get to removate and rebuild a custom kitchen, it'll definitely be with higher countertops!