You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The power to engage

Hey thanks for the mention! I didn't know who the other 5 where but I'll also check them out!

One of the things I'd like to add to the "Hive newcomers" discussion is that you also have to ask yourself why you're here. I mean I know the on boarding efforts mostly promote Hive as a place to make money for posting content.. And if that's the case you might be discouraged if you don't get exposure.

I took Hive as a personal challenge to myself, first of all to write more, and I did so with no special expectations (I still haven't dug into the crypto part 😃🤦🏾‍♂️😃 I'll have to add it to the list) . Don't get me wrong, I love the extra reach especially if my content inspires someone or adds value... (In the same way I appreciate it when other people's content does the same for me) but the challenge was to myself first and foremost. So the amount of fun you have here is based on why you're here and your expectations.

And that's where genuineness comes in, in my opinion.
Get a feel for what you like and how you like to interact. Luckily there are people like you who guide, motive and support so you don't have to find everything out by yourself.
Up till now I like the engagement, and I'm going to continue as much as I can genuinely! But hey I'm social 😃

Sort:  

Six accounts were selected initially and each was supported; As you can see there was mixed results, which is why six were selected.

You make a good point; If people expect to get paid then do not then it will be a discouragement. Best to lower one's standards, remove the expectation of getting paid for doing nothing, and get to work actively working towards building something. But that's me saying this after three and a half years of hindsight. Maybe not so easy for others to see it.

I agree with your second major statement about the challenge. For some it's just enjoyment, but the point is the same. You write well, and that you get enjoyment from it is an additional bonus. If one removes the monetisation of it from their mind and focuses on the reward coming through other avenues then everything falls into place. Sure, getting some money is nice, but if that's the main focus here people will slink away in disappointment because it's not a simple matter of just fronting up, slamming down a few terrible posts and walking away a millionaire.

Being social is a good thing to be on a social media. I liken it to meeting people in real life. Would you talk all about yourself to them not allowing them to speak? Nope, you'll ask about them, prompt them to open up more and show genuine interest...Not boast about yourself. It's the same here, be personable, open and show personality but make it about them, on their posts! That way they leave thinking you're friendly and genuinely interested in them. Do it enough and they'll begin to seek you out to enjoy your company a little more. That's how relationships start, here, and in the real world.

I try to do my bit, like the #weekend-engagement topic that will come out later. To be honest if a person only engaged with every single person on those topic posts they would be able to do a week's worth of engagement in one place. It's a good relationship builder. I've done other things, and will again, of course.

There's nothing like good, consistent, engagement. Seems you're going ok.