You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "HELLO HIVE it's ME @jerrytsuseer

Originally I was going out to get my own groceries, but I was only going once every three weeks and buying a huge amount of groceries, including more canned and frozen items than I would have before, so it would last that long and still have some variety. I did this until I had trouble with one of my knees. No way I could shop for an hour or carry all the groceries from the car and up the steps into my house. That is when I started having them brought to me and so far, it has worked out quite well. I was fortunate to have been working a job that was easily converted to my home back in March. That has meant that so far, I have had no interruption to my finances. (and I am thankful daily, because none of use are guaranteed that will last forever) Since I am not going out, I am not spending as much on other things, so I have the extra to pay a small fee to get them here. I try to order a lot at a time, so the fee is not such a great percentage of what I am spending anyway (and the fee is the same whether I order a little or a lot) and it is true that if I can do that and someone else can make a little money too, then we both win. Those of us that can... should... right? Otherwise I would still be going out every three weeks to get my own. I have to admit though, that having them brought to me makes me feel quite spoiled.

Sort:  

😜 I have to admit though, that having them brought to me makes me feel quite spoiled.
As if we Americans aren't spoiled enough already?
I wondered if the fee were a sliding thing or not. Seems like someone who would do an hour or more trolling around a large grocery store to get 1-2 carts full of food would need to get more (hence the tip I suppose, but when I did it, the tip was included)
I only live about 4 mi or less from one of the largest Kroger's around here, so I tend to bop over every couple of days and pick up the couple of things I am out of.
My kitchen is QUITE small, hence no storage space in cabinets.
I only have my fridge/freezer, so I can't keep a LOT of stuff there either.
We do what we can I suppose.
Thanks for commenting @jacey.boldart; I forgot to do that earlier. 💓

In my case, I am having Walmart do my groceries. I believe I am about 6 miles from them and didn't realize at first they would bring them to me. I "believe" but am not sure that the shopper is a Walmart employee, so they get paid by the hour, so whether they spend an hour pulling my order or do 3 other smaller orders instead, they get paid the same.

The driver's however, I do not believe are Walmart employees, so you get an online option to tip them or not.

My kitchen is not large, but there is a small pantry closet and my fridge is a side-by-side and I have never had the freezer full even when I bought extra. Before the covid crap, I did the same as you as I worked 20 miles away from home and would stop at different groceries stores on the way back home depending on my food whims. I had to get use to buying big and infrequently. Since they are bringing them to me though, I do not order three weeks worth at a time.