You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Corona Virus Update: I'm Sick and Tired! (Ulog No. 54)

"Having stuff on hand just in case" is part of living in the boonies. When a grocery run requires a 45-minute drive, one stocks up. When winter can block roads, one stocks up. There is no need for me to go panic shopping at the last minute. And let me tell you, it has saved my bacon a few times to be able to dip into my reserves.

Sort:  

Agreed! We used to live in Big Sur and the whole idea of "running to Costco" meant a 75 minute drive each way. Even the grocery stores were near an hour away... so you just learn to always have a handy stock in the house. And since the roads would often be taken out by landslides in the winter, you just learned to always have basic provisions on hand.