You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Memories of Another Life: Gold Diggers, Set-ups and Authentic Choices

My teenage years remain a fog of chronic illness more than anything else. I tried to function as a sociable teen to little avail. I joined the Young Marines, and learned distaste for military hierarchy as a result long before I became skeptical of the military-industrial complex in general. My family went skiing frequently with other home-schoolers who had made arrangements with a local resort, and there was monthly roller skating at the local rink while the parents held meetings and planned other activities. But it's all hazy more than surreal.

Sort:  

A large part of my childhood/youth, etc. was also pretty fuzzy... mostly I remember the profound sense of disconnection from everything around me, mostly prompted by the fact that I couldn't ever wrap myself around the things people insisted were "fun" as actually being fun...