Epic cliff top views from the edge of the African continent – next stop Antarctica

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


Greetings and welcome to another edition of the Shape of the Cape, with your host Jules. In today’s video clip I’m at the very edge of the continent of Africa once more. This is at a place I call The Arch because there is a magnificent geological feature down below at the water’s edge, which comprises of a giant archway eroded out of the rock.
I have shown this arch in the past from other hikes, though at another angle, from down below at the shore. It looks great from certain angles, where one can see clearly through the arch to the sky behind it.
However, I have never been able to actually reach the arch feature itself. It still eludes me. By the looks of it, the access is very difficult or impossible, except by jumping into the water and swimming there. That would be a bit dangerous for me, so I admire the arch from a distance.
Curiously though, I have seen on one occasion, two local fishermen actually walking about right at the arch itself. Obviously the locals know a path that I have been unable to find yet. What a challenge. The risk is however, too dangerous for me at present. I simply observe from a distance, and admire the beautiful rock features. Unable to attain this last point in the hiking exploration, I still have something left to attain.
I will return to the extremely steep cliffs in time, perhaps when the weather conditions are just right. And then I will maybe see if I can climb down to the arch itself, right to the shoreline. Many of the other routes and explorations I have done, required me to carve my own paths through the bush. I had to find my own way down the cliff to the sea below.
I have found three actual pathways down the sheer rock face, but no path has shown itself to me all the way to the crowning feature of the cliffs along this African shoreline here. I’m not a high risk person, I will weigh up my risk carefully, since I can’t afford to fall. It could mean by death.
So I climb about the rock, up and down, at my leisure. Some may find it more risky but so far I have played it safe. Living on the edge can be exciting and full of adventure, but we don’t need to risk our lives trying to attain the great heights of depths of the natural surroundings. Extreme sports are for some, but my hiking is more like a walk. There may be some rock climbing, but there is little risk of falling, if you are not afraid of heights.
If you want extreme sports, then you can also go bungi jumping here a few miles from where I am roaming around along the south Cape coast of Africa. It occurs from one of the highest bridges across a deep ravine. You put on the harness and rope, and just jump. The rope holds you aloft and you fall for a few seconds in free fall, but you miss the ground, thanks to the rope and harness.
Also not far away is a local small airport, where you can do tandem skydiving. The plane takes you up and you jump out of the pane attached to the professional skydiver. Both of you fall for a few seconds and a nice parachute opens up and both of you are carried down to the ground at the airport just below. The entire tandem parachute jump takes no more than a few minutes.
So this region of the south Cape coast of Africa is a very popular tourist resort both locally and internationally. The natural animal, plant and geographic features are prolific in this region so I live in a tourist paradise. What a beautiful life, regardless of minimal cash to spend.
I hope you can also access the beauty of nature wherever you live. This is how we stay healthy and happy. The beauty of nature can really inspire and invigorate us on all levels, which is why I have to get out and into nature regularly, even though I live completely surrounded by it already. For a balanced life, we need to take ourselves away from the computer screen and get some active outdoor experience if possible. And the balance is important.

(image pixabay)


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Many thanks @appreciator, for your kind upvote. I feel really appreciated lol. Do what you love and you will love what you do, and all the rest will follow and fall into line.