You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Death a part of life, WHY don't we talk about it❓❓ Part 2

Hello @hope777 Yes, death is a very personal experience. There is one thing for certain in this life, and that is death. You can't avoid it, you can't stop it, and you can't ignore it.

I started planning with my family in the 1980s when my mom purchased her Funeral Services Contract with a Funeral Home. She introduced all her children to it and advised us to start planning in our 20s. Of course, some didn't want to think about it. The result: nothing planned when the time came for them to be laid to rest.

The good thing about purchasing our arrangements was that the price was locked in at the time you sign the contract. When my mom passed, her services at that time cost almost $10K. She only paid $1700 for her complete arrangements.

That was enough to convince me. During the span of 10 years, I purchased and paid in full arrangements for 7 family members. The good thing is that the services are transferable. So I've utilized some of the them on family who hadn't planned ahead.

Then I replaced those with new ones. It has been a heavy burden to try to cover all family members, but I remember the old cliche, either pay me now or pay me later. And later when you're distraught is not the time to try to make rational decisions. that's why it's recommended to make these hard choices when things are calm with a clear head.

I certainly hope that all who read your article take note and then take action.

Thank you from the bottom of my heart for sharing this information. Take care, and stay safe.

Sort:  

Thank you for your in-depth reply and for reading.
It is a wonderful deed of love that you have done.

That was enough to convince me. During the span of 10 years, I purchased and paid in full arrangements for 7 family members. The good thing is that the services are transferable. So I've utilized some of the them on family who hadn't planned ahead.

Have a wonderful week. 🌻

Hello. Apologies if I was long-winded. I just can't say enough about planning ahead. I even have my casket already selected and paid for. Beautiful grandma features. My children won't have to do anything but get the paperwork from the safe deposit. Done and done.

Thanks so much for taking the time to listen.

No apologies needed, I enjoyed reading about your efforts. The fact that your casket is already selected is interesting as that is what our great grandparents did. The caskets were already in the attic.
Your children will be lucky when your time comes, but I trust that you will still have many happy healthy years with them and your grandchildren 💕

Thank you. We don't have it available in storage. It's just pre-paid as part of the funeral package. Since they helped me choose with a "grandma" theme and quote on the inside. Let me stop. I sound so morbid. But everyone is happy it's completed.

Thank you so much for your engagement on this delicate, but necessary matter.