Shadow On the Mountain

This is my first entry to the very fun Shadow Hunters contest. I was really torn over what photo to use. I enjoy the balance of shadow and light, and have a couple of recent photos directly of shadows, and my cherry tree is casting a very pretty one itself right now. In the end I went for one i just love.

I took this earlier in the year on a trip to the dentist of all places. I'm not sure how well this will fit the criteria, because the focus of the photo needs to be on the shadow. All of this photo is the shadow of the mountain as we came up over the top. I was just absolutely captivated by the way the sunlight streaks between the peaks, and the banded shadow cast across the top. A close up crop shows the shadowing better.

image.png

There is something I sincerely love about it, the composition from top to bottom, the road dipping down, the dew-formed clouds steaming off the sunlit side of the mountain, the sensation of being in the shadows, and then that beautiful shadowing over the peak that prompted me to take the photo. Nature really is glorious, even when captures using a phone, through a windscreen, in a moving car!



Shadow On the Mountain


image.png

Dawn striates -
the valley awaits
sunlight's touch

Sort:  

GREAT POST!!

We have cross posted it for you!

You can see which community it was posted to HERE

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives _night mode.png

JOIN OUR DISCORD COMMUNITY

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR COMMUNITY FEED

FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

Inspiring views. I live in British Columbia surrounded by mountains and the shadows cast are sublime. They inspired a song by the Canadian rock band The Tea Party. Appropriately enough, the song is called shadows on the mountainside:

I hadn't even heard of The Tea Party, but we all enjoyed listening to that one! We've been having bit of late morning music listening session and this fitted in perfectly, thank you :)

You're in for a treat. I recommend their album Splendor Solis if you're into psychedelic style rock music with a modern twist.

I've only more recently got into psychedelic style rock music, the birds like to hear new things so we've done a lot of new music discovery on youtube, and I found a band called All Them Witches and was hooked. On my third listen through of the album today, very much enjoying it!

A wonderful post and description of your lovely photo! I wish I had a drive like that when I have to go to the dentist! ❤️

Thank you so much <3 gotta admit, knowing we'd be able to go over the hills was a big factor in choosing which dentist we registered with ;)