You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Corona Virus Update: I'm Sick and Tired! (Ulog No. 54)

I knew a month ago people would be going crazy in the US once cases started popping up. I can't even watch the news anymore because the fear mongering is so horrible. The news is trying to make people panic. I think it's an election year thing but whatever it is it is nuts. We got our first case 15 minutes from here (the person never even got home from the airport to infect people) but there was an immediate run on cleaning supplies and toilet paper. What I find crazy is people aren't stocking up on food! If you've got to go in isolation have some sense and buy some food. But yeah...I'm sick of the craziness of how people are reacting to this whole thing. I'm sitting at home cool as a cucumber. I prepared a month ago for the crazy panic buying more than I did the coronavirus so my pantry is stocked. I work from home too so I'm just going to enjoy being out in the country on our homestead away from the craziness of society for a while til this all passes and life resumes as normal.

Sort:  

The media definitely makes it way worse than it needs to be...

My wife and I both work from home, and we're introverts anyway, so this "social distancing" is really not an issue for us... it's pretty much how we live our lives, anyway. I see on eBay, so the extent of my going out revolves around dropping prepaid packages at the post office, and occasionally picking up a few perishables (which isn't what people are selling out of) from the grocery. Observing basic "voluntary quarantine" protocol is really not a stretch.

Probably the most "dangerous" thing I need to do in the next couple of weeks is make a trip to the courthouse to pay our property taxes...