Sort:  

I agree with you, there is a threshold of what people should be sharing. I am the same although I post a picture or two of me and my wife on hive, usually with glasses on for obvious reasons. I am fairly open as o say, although so much of my life and who I am is not posted...So people probably fill in the blanks on me which is what people like doing; Judging or embracing their ow perception.

One of my brother's is very security conscious and will not show himself or family online. I get it...He doesn't use WhatsApp either...We use Threema which is the same but somewhat more security-focused (apparently.)

Anyway, I understand you're busy so thanks for responding.

Have a good night.

It's a trade-off of sorts with me. In the non-computer world, I am an introvert type of personality. I'm not shy I just prefer small groups and self-isolation. and even then I am relatively reserved (unless alcohol is involved) or I really know the person or group I am with, that is to say, if we have a history together then I am more open.

Here I can skip that part and dive straight into a more emotional open side where I can talk openly without actually having to really know who I am talking to or who is reading what I am writing. Sure I know the small photos that serve as their avatar and I can get to know their personality through their writing style, jokes, comments, and such. But I never really know, most of us don't.

In a way, it's like practice runs for the real world. The more I feel free to talk on here, the more open I am, the more I feel safe being open to a wider array of people right in front of me in less time then I normaly would have.

This is an interesting comment and observation and I've never really thought of it this way before. It's sort of a practice run that helps to open you up in your real life...Interesting perspective and I wonder how many introverted types feel the same?

Here on hive this is why it's so important to build good relationships I think...It deeps one's experience and can bring a lot more enjoyment and fun...Due to the low monetary value of hive it's best to find value elsewhere through enjoyment.

Great perspective, thanks for sharing it.