You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The driver of creation

I find the flow state very pleasurable. I worked in professional kitchens, which many would find highly unpleasant. But after hours of heavy labor, we had a couple racks full of food ready to make others happy. The sense of pride both during and after a shift was profound. Nice essay.

Sort:  

It is nice to focus on a task and then see the result of it afterward - immediate feedback. I like the flow state, which is why I probably write so much and so often :)

Do you still work with food?

I'm retired after more than 30 years in the biz, 26 as owner of food businesses. Once upon a time there was nothing I would rather be doing. Now, cooking and especially baking are the last things I want to do. But of course, I do. And I suck at them both. The thrill, the passion, is gone. No flow, none.

Now I get into the flow for freewrites.

Do you find it strange that the passion can change so drastically?

Freewriting is something that should be encouraged when young, as it is a great way to process. Perhaps if more of us did it, less of us would suffer so much.

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.