Surprises cleaning out my music room | Auke Jongbloed, Fugue, g minor

20200502_153903.jpg

My study annex music room is a mess, let's be honest about that. It is crammed full with four instruments (organ, piano, violin and a guitar), books, materials of three studies (biochemistry, IT and music), music scores, piles of paper, two desks, two computers, an old radio from the 1950's (meaning it is huge), four monitors and all sorts if stuff and keepsakes one assembles in over 50 years of life.

In short, it is a mess.

For the last decade or so cleaning up my study means moving piles of paper from one spot to another, clear my desk enough that I have a little working space and I generally sigh at the hopelessness of the task.

Now that because of the soft lock down in the Netherlands I have a little more time at home I decided to clean up my study a bit more thouroughly. Stuff that I don't use any more, can go in the garbage bin. And if I can't say goodbey to some of the keepsakes, at least they can go to the attic, so that I have a little more breathing space.

Going through all the piles of music paper brought some nice surprises. Not only all my harmony and counterpoint exercises are stil here, I found some finished compositions I had completely forgotten about. Though I am rather critical of my own compositions, two of them are nice enough to typeset, play and publish.

The first is a fugue in g minor. I can't remember whether the theme was one of my counterpoint assignments, or that I created it myself. So perhaps you know the theme from another fugue. If so, let me know who composed that one. So the first four bars are perhaps not original, the rest is. Now that I found it back, I remember writing it, and even perform it for some friends.

The standard building blocks of a fugue are there: exposition, divertimenti, re-exposition. The only thing missing is a stretto near the end of the fugue. I probably thought the fugue already long enough as it is.

It was nice to play it again after al these years. I hope you like it too.

The recording was done with the Hauptwerk software and the sampleset, made by Sonus Paradisi, of the Schittger organ in the St. Martini-kerk, Groningen (http://www.sonusparadisi.cz/en/organs/netherlands/groningen-st-martini.html).

The score is available on my site: Score available here: http://partitura.org/index.php/auke-jongbloed-fugue-g-minor

Sort:  

GREAT POST!!!

Thank you for publishing it to our community feed!

We have cross posted it for you!

You can see which community it was posted to HERE

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives _night mode.png

JOIN OUR DISCORD COMMUNITY

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR COMMUNITY FEED

FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

Excellent work, Auke.

Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community (Subscribe at peakd and Steempeak) as it appears to be of interest to our community. We also support jazz and folk music posts!

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.


The classical music community at #classical-music, Peakd, Steempeak and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto!

He said, 'Stop doing wrong things and turn back to God! The kingdom of heaven is almost here.'(Matthew 3:2)

Question from the Bible, How do we forgive someone who has done us wrong in the past? [Part 1 of 2]

Watch the Video below to know the Answer...
(Sorry for sending this comment. We are not looking for our self profit, our intentions is to preach the words of God in any means possible.)


Comment what you understand of our Youtube Video to receive our full votes. We have 30,000 #HivePower, It's our little way to Thank you, our beloved friend.
Check our Discord Chat
Join our Official Community: https://peakd.com/c/hive-182074/created