Wednesday Walk - Wildflowers, Animals and Feathered Friends

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE4 years ago (edited)

I had made my regular walk to the pond to check on the Bufflehead ducklings and Canada Geese goslings and was once more pleasantly surprised by the abundance of wildflower blooms!

New to the array were the Black-eyed Susan and Hyssop blooms! Also among the many blossoms were butterflies and other bugs - it is such a pleasure to be walking in the wildflower fields!

Let's have a look...

Field With an Abundance of Black-eyed Susan Blooms

close up of black eyed susans in the field.JPG

A Closer Look at the Black-eyed Susan Flowers

close up stand of black eyed susans.JPG

Another View of the Black-eyed Susan Flowers

patch of black eyed susans.JPG

Daisy fleabane Among the Black-eyed Susan Flowers

display of black eyed susans and white fleabane.JPG

Interestingly was the number of these small skipper butterflies fluttering around in this field adding their own special beauty!

Close Up Small Skipper Butterfly on Black-eyed Susan Bloom

close upsmall orange butterfly on black eyed susan bloomwings open.JPG

Another View of the Small Skipper Butterfly on Black-eyed Susan Bloom

close up butterfly on black eyed susan bloom.JPG

Close Up Small Skipper Butterfly on Red Clover Bloom

3 butterflies on red clover bloom.JPG

Three Small Skipper Butterfly on Daisy Fleabane Blooms

3 small oranges on white fleabane like flowers.JPG

Another creature that was enjoying the blooms was a big brown spider.

Close Up of Brown Spider on the Black-eyes Susan Bloom

close up spider on black eyed susan.JPG

Here's another closeup of the small skipper butterfly, this time on the hyssop bloom.

Close Up Small Skipper Butterfly on Hyssop Bloom

close up cute golden butterfly on hyssop bloom.JPG

Some of the other blooms I found on my walk was the red clover, vetch, alfalfa and locoweed. Each adding their own beauty!

Close Up Red Clover Blossoms

close up red clover blossoms that are pink.JPG

Close Up of the Vetch Flower

close up vetch flower.JPG

Close Up Deep Purple Alfalfa Flower

close up deep purple alfalfa blooms.JPG

Close Up Creamy White Flowers of the Locoweed

creamy white flower of locoweed.JPG

One other flower that was becoming quite abundant along our lane was the Macoun's Buttercup. It looks pretty now but produces a bur like seed head with stickers that attach to your clothes and animal fur, their way of spreading their seeds.

Close Up Macoun's Buttercup

yellow flowers on bur plant.JPG

At the pond I was happy to see the cute Bufflehead ducks swimming with their mom.

They are so interesting to watch for they are divers and now with them getting bigger they were diving right under the water.

Stages of Bufflehead Ducklings Feeding Diving Under Water

different stages of bufflehead duckling looking and diving for food.JPG

As I got closer momma duck pulled her ducklings in closer but they relaxed when I crouched down more in the grasses and went about feeding.

Momma Bufflehead Duck Pulls Here Ducklings Together Little One Stretches Wings

Momma Bufflehead duck in front of her group of ducklings 1 stretching its wings.JPG

The ducklings were really growing starting to look more like their mother with their markings but I was surprised at how small their wings were, leaving them so vulnerable.

close Up Bufflehead Duckling Stretching It's Wings

female Bufflehead duch with 5 ducklings 1 has his chest pulled out of water flapping his little wings.JPG

The geese and goslings were still hanging around the pond feeding in the field beside it.

The grasses had really grown so I couldn't get that good of photos until they noticed me and headed into the water. Even there they swam towards some bushes.

Pair of Geese With There Goslings Feeding In the Grasses

pair of geese with 3 older gosling feeding in grasses.JPG

Pair of Geese With Gosling Swimming

pair of geese swimming with one bigger gosling.JPG

And the big surprise I got was with a black bear showing up beside the road.

I wanted to share this with you although I didn't see it on my walk (a good thing) I saw it when I was driving to town.

Now there is an increase of black bears for,because of covid, there is no outfitting this year (another good thing). These bears had been drawn into this area and now they have imprinted on it so our neighbors are seeing more of them around. We have a lot of big dogs right close to us which keeps the bears away.

Young Black Bear in the Grass by the Road

young black bear in grasses.JPG

Young Black Bear Standing Up Looking Around

young black bear standing in grasses at edge of road.JPG

Young Bear Coming Onto Road

black bear crossing road.JPG

That's it for this week. I hope you enjoyed the wildflowers and little critters that hung around them, the update on the ducklings and goslings and the surprise sighting of the black bear!

This is my #WednesdayWalk hosted by @tattoodjay. He collaborates with @elizacheng and her #MakeMeSmile initiative see her latest post here

image.png

Also the first photo of the field full of black-eyed susans is my entry to Photo 52, 2020 Challenge, Week Number 30: Flowers Details here

Bird images are for the #FeatheredFriends community hosted by @melinda010100

The photos were taken with my Canon PowerShot SX60 HS.

Thanks for stopping by!


Discover previous ecoTrain magazines at @ecoTrain plus news on the Eco-Village at www.ecovillages.io

Join The Best Natural Health Community on Hive

MINDFULLIFE.png MINDFUL LIFE is a Natural Medicine project which supports meditators on HIVE Discord II Community**

ABUNDANCE TRIBE.gif Creating Abundance on Hive

Sort:  

GREAT POST!!!

Thank you for publishing it to our community feed!
Compliments of the PHC founder @jaynie...

We have tweeted, upvoted and reblogged it for you.

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives _night mode.png

JOIN OUR DISCORD COMMUNITY

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR COMMUNITY FEED

FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

Thank-you for the upvotes, reblog and tweet!

Amazing shots !

Greats shots, stunning and amazing...

Soooo beautiful @porters! Your photograph is getting better all the time!!! You must be really enjoying it and it's great to see you out and about and enjoying the sunshine! That spider - man, I thought we had them big here! Are they medicinal, the black eyed susans? They have flowers simliar to echinacea in a way! . I have to say though, I'm not a fan of the borders - I think your photos are great all on their own! All the flowers remind me of the English meadows.

Glad you enjoyed the photos!
For me every day is a photo adventure day!
I've learned to take my camera along most places I go for you never know if there will be a photo op!
I'm also learning not to take my camera when I'm trying to get some work done like gardening for I keep getting distracted!

Thanks for letting me know about the borders - I thought it looked more finished.

Sure would make me smile if I saw a brown bear in the wild!

What a wonderful walk through the fields down to the ponds such a great variety of flowers, butterflies finishing off of the ducks/goose on the ponds, summer is pretty in your region.

With all the construction and changes in our neighborhood, we haven't seen our bears in a couple years. :((

such awesome colours. and that macros are just amazing.

Posted using Dapplr

What a cool walk. Thank you for sharing it with us! I really appreciate that you identified everything.

Guess what? @tattoodjay is BACK. He posted an actifit post yesterday, and it is really good to see him in out community again. I'll bet that means that #Wednesdaywalk will come thundering back. I've missed my friend.

Oh I am so happy to hear @tattoodjay is back! I keep looking to see if he is active for I sure enjoyed his photography and he breathed life into the #WednesdayWalk!
Glad you enjoyed my walk and it is a learning thing for me to be able to identify things - thanks to google images and such for things I'm not sure about!

Not quite back yet have the grandkids with us this weekend so busy with them but maybe next week I will be back

Yeh! Hope you have a wonderful time with the grandchildren. Looking forward to your return!

Ohhh such a beautiful place, so many flowers! Nature is amazing, thank you for the photos, I travelled in time and imagine myself there, lovely.

P. S. The picture with the 3 butterflies was so cute

Lovely shots!!
What camera did you use?

I mentioned it at the end of my post - it is the Canon PowerShot SX 60HS

Oh my god, I didn't expect to see bear at the end!
Wonderful photos of wild flowers and wild life.

Lovely photos, the summer flowers look amazing..

I always learn something when I visit your blog. Today I learned the name of a butterfly.

Skipper butterflies. I have tons of those this year. They love my sow thistle. I don't think my neighbors love my sow thistle.

It;s always a pleasure to go on walks with you.

Gorgeous photographs and lovely wildflowers, how amazing to see a bear so close to town! Enjoy your summer @porters:)

Thanks for sharing your creative and inspirational post on HIVE!



This post got curated by our fellow curator @priyanarc and you received a 100% upvote from our non-profit curation service!

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work!

Beautiful shots! I love the ones with the neat insects. The ones of the geese are making me a little anxious. I blogged about my ordeal with them a few days ago. Ugggg. Goslings are always cute though.

Y'know, I really like the closeups of those flowers with the butterflies on them. Really neat!

!BEER
Awesome WALK and SMILE post!!! Love the flowers... Black-eyed Susan... Love these... and you caught so many different insects too... And that is one HUGE spider!!! And even a bear! Love the nature!!!


Hey @porters, here is a little bit of BEER from @elizacheng for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.