Dried Grass Remains, Poetry, Photography, and Digital Art

in The LIFESTYLE LOUNGE4 years ago (edited)

Dried Grass Remains

IMG_9306 3.jpg

IMG_9306.jpg




Then …

a derelict aqua-duct
cuts through the square

there was water
in olden times
grass grew green
fed by the flow

here, they found zen

stress has hydrophilic tendencies
it's pulled away in the current

IMG_9306 4.jpg

IMG_9366 1.jpg






Now …

the whistle of a rusted whirligig
has replaced the constant ohm
                     of a healthy stream
                                          of consciousness







IMG_9307 1.jpg







dried grass remains
marking an ancient path
ignited by the breeze
crackling and dancing

earth-held sparklers
lighting the Way back

IMG_9306 1.jpg



***

Words and Images are my own.

Dried Grass Remains is published in Monsters, Avatars, and Angels and available in paperback or digital through amazon and your local libraries and bookstores. Click on any title below to further explore and support my writing.


41W9NO+twnL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

51yzou8DjZL.jpg

51Kh1EXgJ4L.jpg

41jG7IKuSWL.jpg

31gdhyzrl3L._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

51myL5BPXFL._SX331_BO1,204,203,200_-1.jpg

23561680_2086437891584498_8465926052567756066_n.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @prydefoltz! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week
You published more than 550 posts. Your next target is to reach 600 posts.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Hi @prydefoltz, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @simplifylife!


Support us by voting as a Hive Witness and/or by delegating HIVE POWER.

JOIN US ON

Stunning. I love the bit about stress and hydrophilia - that makes perfect sense for me. I felt it in England, walking by streams, and me being a surfer girl, it's the water that soothes me. having HSP - water just helps so much with my parasympathetic nervous system.

I'm compiling a collection of Hiveian poems - mostly with focus on the virus and/or healing, and this poem would suit, unless you have another you think is more appropriate. I'd love to gather the proceeds for a charity - it's in it's fledgeling stages, but I'd be honoured if I could feature you and one of your photos? Please let me know xx

Thank you, Riverflows. Yes, you are welcome to use this poem. What charity were you thinking of donating to?

I don't know yet. I thought I'd do a post about it and see what people thought. I thought something to do with asylum seekers or refugees - whilst we all have a 'place' to lockdown in, many are in unsafe situations. It'll be a while before I get it all done, as I have to collect all the poetry! Feel free to drop your poetry links uner my posts or DM in Discord riverflows#4691 x