My entry to the "My first ever HIVE BLOG POST challenge"

kfwp.png

One of the things that motivated me to be part of Steemit more than three years ago was my love for writing stories, this has been my hobby ever since I was a child, and when they told me about this platform and that I could share my writings there, I didn't think much about it and signed up right away. My first post was one of many stories I have written.

It must be noted that my original post was in Spanish and I have translated it to English for this contest:


image.png
[Source of the Image]

Original Post: Sucedió a las dos de la tarde en la Avenida Haticos por Arriba

An Ocurrence at Haticos Avenue

Published on June 15th 2017

I’m about to share with you a very strange experience I had last Friday, but in order for you to understand it, I must first tell you what happened to me thirty-five years ago when I was only fourteen years old.

It was an afternoon of the year of 1981 and I was getting ready to go to my high school Valerio Toledo, I was about to have my first Mathematics and Physics club meeting, club that had just accepted me as a member, in said meeting a professor from the Zulia University was going to do a conference about Albert Einstein's Special Theory of Relativity. I vaguely knew a thing or two about this subject due to a television show called Towards Tomorrow, show that my brother Gary frequently watched at night, and it had caused me much astonishment – the meeting was also a way to set up a schedule for students who had problems with two of the famous three Marias: Mathematics and Physics, the third Maria was Chemistry, but this subject had another club that I couldn’t join since they only accepted students who were two years my senior.

I bathed and quickly dressed up, putting on my uniform which I remember was a white shirt, dark blue pants, white stockings, and black dress shoes. I wanted to arrive as early as possible to the meeting, as in those years I was very motivated and full of energy and dreams, thinking I could just conquer the world. Our regular classes were in the morning from seven to twelve, but the club meetings took place every Friday from one o’clock to two-thirty in the afternoon. As I left the room my mother gave me a tasty coffee as usual and then I went out to cross the Haticos avenue so I could take a cab, this was very rare since I’d usually walk on my way to high school and then back home.

Standing by the sidewalk while waiting for the vehicle to arrive I started to get impatient, I decided to ask the man standing beside me, my neighbor, what time it was, he just glanced at his watch and told me it was a quarter to two in the afternoon, I realized I had time to spare since the meeting would be in around half an hour. I’m unable to remember what we chatted about as we waited for the car to arrive and we did so until we saw one coming, it was red, maybe a Dodge Dart. When it arrived I realized it had only one seat left in the back, my neighbor had arrived first so it was only fair for him to take it, however, perhaps because he noticed I was in such a hurry, he offered me the seat, of course, I thanked him as if he was my savior and then sat down.

I remember that in the car there were two women, one of them was a young lady sitting next to the door and the other was a middle-aged woman sitting in the middle next to me. The latter had a very large transparent bag on her lap full of a variety of sweets: snacks, dried apricots, pastry cookies, egg crackers, mints, and so on; she frequently moved this large bag towards her belly causing it to make that distinctive plastic bag noise. The younger woman was carrying a girl with long hair lying on her chest which constantly looked out the window, in the front seats there were also two gentlemen but I can’t recall any of their characteristics, however, I do remember that soon it began to heavily rain and when the car was arriving in a sector called The Seven Doors we heard a loud sound that caused the driver to decelerate the vehicle. A tire had been flattened.

The driver very kindly told us to get off the car since he had to change the tire, and if we wanted, he could give us our money back, at least to the ones that had already paid. I had not paid yet and I thought of getting off very fast to take another cab, I was worried about being late to my important meeting, but the lady with the bag of sweets asked me to help her get out so I had no choice but to do so.

We all got out of the car, the two gentlemen that were previously seated in the front crossed the street and quickly went to a house that was nearby while the women, the little girl, and I stood under the roof of a bus stop shelter watching the driver change the tire under the pouring rain. As time went by I got anxious, I saw the watch the little girl was wearing around her wrist and impatiently asked what time it was, she wiped the raindrops that dripped from it and told me it was two o’clock in the afternoon. Suddenly it stopped raining, the rain didn’t stop progressively as it usually does, no, the heavy rain did as if someone had just turned off a faucet.

I thought it was the perfect timing to get another cab so I walked as fast as I could to the sidewalk and saw a white car coming, I tried to make signals as quickly as possible in a desperate manner to get its attention, perhaps it could give me a ride, the vehicle evaded our damaged car but as it passed right next to me something curious happened, a person that seated on the back of that car looked at me while they stuck their head out of the window and steadily stared at me, we couldn’t take our eyes out of each other and even when the car was far behind he waved at me through the rear glass. This encounter of only stares struck me as bizarre, that person didn’t look like anyone I knew, but they also didn’t look like a stranger, on the contrary, it was as if I’d met them before but didn’t remember… I’d never felt anything like that and since then I haven’t experienced it again.

But let me, my patient and dear reader tell you about what happened last Friday. I was on my way to my mother’s house, a house in which I lived for almost twenty-five years, I had my on my car, but since I had to do some errands in a dangerous part of the city I decided to take a cab for safety reasons. The car was a white one and I sat on the back, I was the only passenger, when we were passing by The Seven Doors sector I could see a red car stranded on the highway and of course, it had a flat tire. In the middle of the street, there was a young boy dressed in what seemed to be a white shirt and dark blue pants making signals with his hands, begging to be a passenger. I quickly stuck my head out of the window to have a better look of him and I couldn’t take my eyes out of the boy, the driver rejected his request and didn’t stop, instead he accelerated while I still watched the boy through the rear glass, I also noticed more details, the women and the little girl standing under the bus stop shelter, the man changing the tire, but a quick heavy rain didn’t let me see anything else. I had a weird sensation and I’m not sure why I waved at the boy that looked as if he had just seen a ghost, I’m sure I had the same look on my face; I took a quick glance at my watch, it was two o’clock in the afternoon.


hh.png

This is an entry for:
My first ever HIVE BLOG POST challenge - WIN THE POST EARNINGS!
proposed by @jaynie

How to ENTER this contest?


First of all - you MUST have been on HIVE for AT LEAST 3 MONTHS to qualify

STEP 1:
Create a post sharing your own FIRST EVER HIVE (or Steem) POST (EXCLUDING INTRODUCTORY POSTS). You are welcome to use a format like mine - but PLEASE create your OWN HEADER DESIGN! Also - feel free to "link" it to your ACTUAL original post. (Not compulsory)

STEP 2:
Your blog post TITLE must be:
My entry to the "My first ever HIVE BLOG POST challenge"

STEP 3:
Be sure to include the DATE your post was published.
(Like I did above) - @peakd gives full date clarity on posts.

STEP 4:
Include the "How to Enter" section at the end of your post so that others know how to join in and what is required.

STEP 5:
Use the following two tags (in any order) as a part of your 8 or 10 tags: myfirsthiveblogpost and powerhousecreatives

STEP 6:
Publish your post to the PHC community feed
(https://peakd.com/c/hive-114105/created)

STEP 7:
Share a link to your post in the comments of THIS post.

STEP 8 (optional):
ONLY IF you are on Twitter - Share your post on Twitter using the same tags mentioned above (and the usual hive tags) and add that link in the comments of this post too.

image.png

A community dedicated to producing quality content in multiple genres,
offering our subscribers a read worthy feed.

JOIN OUR DISCORD COMMUNITY
SUBSCRIBE TO OUR COMMUNITY FEED
FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

Sort:  

GREAT POST!!!

Thank you for publishing it to our community feed!
Compliments of the PHC founder @jaynie...

We have tweeted, upvoted and reblogged it for you.

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives _night mode.png

JOIN OUR DISCORD COMMUNITY

SUBSCRIBE TO OUR COMMUNITY FEED

FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

What an awesome first post! Thank you for sharing it and being a part of this challenge! !tip


If you are looking for a GENUINE community dedicated to embracing, encouraging, uplifting and SUPPORTING Hive content creators, then come and join us in the Power House Creatives Server We welcome ALL content genres on our community page and aim to provide our subscribers a read worthy feed. We would LOVE to meet you within our Discord server – COME JOIN US!*

Thank you so much!