You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Executive decisions

When my friends and I were at uni we used to call them brunch and linner XP

I think J used the environment variable to argue his case for continuing to work from home, and work realised he was a hell of a lot more productive in the same or less amount of time at home than he was in the office so here he has remained.

I work best when I "should" be going to bed x_x (my natural bedtime is somewhere between midnight at 3am, I'm trying to go to bed between 10 and 11 but that's when I'm most productive) and generally not when there's other people around as I talk to myself a lot (been trying to stop because J thinks I'm talking to him and gets distracted XD).

I need to come up with a better setup for my desk though, keyboard shortcuts with the way the keyboard and tablet are set up next to each other is not good for my shoulder

Why I can't seem to do it at the office without closing my door is a mystery

Subconscious wiring of what you need to pay attention to. In a cafe the only thing you'd "have" to pay attention to is a possible threat and that's highly unlikely to happen, so you can focus harder. Meanwhile any unusual office sound might mean someone is coming to talk to iyou about something and so you context switch (thus breaking your concentration on what you were doing) to see if you need to pay attention to it and by the time you find out you don't well your concentration is already broken. The door closing thing meanwhile is an established "don't bother me" so your brain feels more free to not pay attention to what's going on outside.

That's what I think anyway XD

Sort:  

That's a great explanation of why I can't work as t work sometimes...I never thought of it that way! I rarely close my office door at work...Sends a bad message. When it is closed someone's copping it though! Lol.

Brunch and linner...That works. So I can have breakfast, brunch, lunch, linner and dinner. Is there a word for after dinner snack?