You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Red Leaves and Raindrops: A Photographic Tribute to the Amazing Beauty of Fall!

The leaves have barely started to turn here which is highly unusual, the majority of the leaves are still on the trees. This is the first year ever in my life where I've had my house plants outside not just into October but past the middle of October. That has never happened. I've had hanging baskets that have lasted into October, I think last year or the year before I had one almost to Thanksgiving still out there in bloom. Today though despite no threat of frost from the newscast in sight yet I decided to finally bring them in. We are going to drop in temps for a few days then back into the sixties but no warning of frost. I already did my usually wash and old english on the woodwork and changed my living room around for the influx of plants to come in so I was ready despite the urge to see how long this recording breaking event would go on. I took a shot of those tomato plants growing in the steps a day or so after I mentioned it in a comment, I added the pic of that as it was underneath the jungle of house plants and morning glories gone wild they were hidden underneath of.

IMG_0320_Moment.jpg

IMG_0283_Moment.jpg

Sort:  

Yes, I remember the tomatoes... they seem to have done quite well for themselves!

Thankfully, we only have a couple of houseplants that need to come in; most of the rest are more fragile (like African Violets) and stay inside all the time. Generally our winters here a relatively mild.

I do remember the annual "houseplant migration" from my years of living in Texas; it was mostly warm/hot... but come November there was always the chance for that "Norther" to blow in suddenly and drop the temps into the mid-20's. It was a LOT of work...