My Steem Story - By @wwwiebe

Navy Blue Smooth Jazz Cover Youtube Thumbnail.png

MY STEEM STORY

A Power House Creatives Initiative

Power House Creatives _night mode.png

Everyone has a story – and all our stories have something in common… we all started from nothing and knew nothing. People want to hear stories. They want to hear OUR stories — they want to know who we are, where we are from, what we are doing, who and what we love, what we have learnt and where we are going. People also want us to hear their story! Being a part of the Steem network is an individual journey for every single one of us and through this initiative we will share our stories not only with all who are already here – hopefully inspiring, guiding and informing them… but doing the same for everyone else in the world too. Through our stories we will prick the curiosity of those who have not yet arrived and illuminate and widen the already open doors to our one in a million blockchain.

We invite and encourage each and every one of you to participate and share your stories too! You can find the "how to" details at the end of this post.


MY STEEM STORY - BY @WWWIEBE

Photo on 21120 at 12.17 PM.jpg

>>>BEGIN YOUR STORY WITH RELEVANT TITLES HERE<<<

Where my Steem Journey began

I've been on the Steem blockchain for a few months under a year now. I had been a regular user of Google+ when it was a thing and remember being pretty put out when Google decided to shut it down (I still greatly miss the interface). My primary purpose at Google+ was the photography communities; there were some really good ones, with some really good photographers.

I began to search for a replacement that didn't include the words "Face" and "book" in it for a multitude of reasons I won't go into. Along the way I found diaspora and a connected offshoot named pluspora for Google+ refugees, MeWe which I actually did use for some time, despite hating the interface, and Minds which, honestly, I never used. I tried to engage in Flickr as well but couldn't get past the Yahoo aspect of it, even though it isn't really Yahoo anymore. I guess I was soured on it.

It was at some point after that I discovered Steem and Steemit. I do have my own website and domain (which I rarely use, to be honest) because, frankly, I don't have the time to try to build a following of people to go to One More Place for what is really Just More of the Same. I just want a place to share some photos, some goofiness, and some silliness and have people enjoy it. And, frankly, the idea of being able to earn some tips for being silly seemed like a pretty neat deal!

My initial challenges & how I overcame them

It took nearly three weeks for my account to be created. Honestly, I had given up on it and was moving on when the email finally arrived. And, y'know, holy shit, this steem blockchain was confusing as all fuck! Four keys to try to figure out, where to put them, when to use them, where to use them, for which frontend, wtf are all these front ends, how does steemit.com differ from steemitwallet.com, steemd.com, steemdb.com, WTF do I need to put my profile information in my wallet and not steemit.com itself, Jesus Christ look at all the tags and people telling me I'm using them wrong, WTH do I keep running out of resources, oh great, I need more steem, HTH do I use blocktrades and so forth.

--> deep breath *wheeze* deep breath <--

Yeah. New users can get confused, and I'm not an idiot. Really, I'm not. I'm a pretty technically savvy person, but the sheer amount of information in a plethora of locations is overwhelming. Thankfully the good folk at the Steem Terminal were there to help. @thekittygirl, @xcountytravelers, @brittandjosie, @wesphilbin, in particular, you guys rock. I don't know how you call keep your patience answering the same questions over and over and over and over. And over.

My Steem blockchain knowledge

Blockchains. I had a vague idea of how blockchains work, and it had been on my radar to learn more. I certainly know a helluva lot more now than I did then. Enough, at least, to want to make my own dApp. Photography based, of course. Oh, for only a 56 hour day to be able to do it.

My Steem favourites

So my tastes are wide and varied. Eclectic might be the best word. I came here for the photography, I stayed because there's So Damn Much. Ironically, I've found that I've been more engaged with topics not relating to photography at all, to the point that I'm actually attempting to re-focus on it.

One of the biggest challenges I face is finding what I will really enjoy. It's funny, in a way, in that I have witnessed concerns about a lack of regular users on the chain. In my experience I need to wade through a lot of material to find what I really enjoy, and then there is a lot of it! There are a lot of curators, for sure, and that certainly helps. @photocircle is pretty awesome. I really enjoy the Creative Coin curations too. Power House Creatives is pretty great, of course - @jaynie delivers to us four gold nuggets every day, and they never fail to impress and entertain.

My golden nugget advice

If you're new to the Steem blockchain, do not be afraid to ask for help. The vast majority of people are definitely willing to help, or at least point you in the right direction. And do not be afraid or intimidated by a language barrier. We all find a way to communicate and appreciate having people from all walks of life.

My Steem hood & its peeps

This one is easy. My favourite communities:

PowerHouseCreatives. Too much fun. So many people, so many different backgrounds. Always fun.

CreativeCoin. The CreativeCoin community is one reason I wish there was 56 hours in a day. @isaria, @crimsonclad, @juliakponsford and @georgeboya have some of the best posts and most creative... creations. I simply cannot keep up with their level of awesome.

Photostreem. Just one of the many photography groups on steem, and the one that runs the PHOTO token and photostreem.com. It's always inspiring to see what other people are able to do with their cameras.

There are certainly others that I enjoy to peek in on from time to time and engage with - @mariannewest's freewritehouse comes to mind - but I need to somehow try to compress 56 hours of stuff into a couple free hours every day.

So the instructions say to tag five people. Most of the people I would think of tagging are probably already involved, but I shall try:

@definethedollar
@tattoodjay
@swedishdragon
@brumesh
@bambuka



GENERAL INSTRUCTION:

  1. Create a post titled: “My Steem Story – By @your.user.name

  2. The first three tags in order are to be as follows:
    #hive-114105
    #powerhousecreatives
    #mysteemstory

  3. ONLY make use of the cover image provided in this post.

  4. Keep the same formatting and placement (intro, footer
    instructions etc.)

  5. Replace the personal photo with one of your own.

  6. Tag 5 people to join in on the initiative.

  7. Share your post to twitter.

  8. Share your twitter link and Steem post link in the comments of @jaynie’s “Steem Story” post.

POST INSTRUCTION:

Write a post which shares and gives adequate response to the following headings:

Where my Steem Journey began
(How you first discovered Steem and your very first thoughts and impressions “as you landed”.)

My initial challenges & how I overcame them
(Share a bit about the difficulties you faced at the beginning, whether it was navigation, post creation, engagement – whatever – how you resolved them and how differently you feel about it now)

My Steem blockchain knowledge
(Give a little bit of background on your blockchain knowledge when you began your Steem journey versus now.)

My Steem favourites
(What are the things you do mostly on the blockchain – is it blogging, vlogging? What front ends do you like to make use of and what content genre’s do you generally focus on?)

My golden nugget advice
(What advice would you offer to those that are unfamiliar or new to this space)

My Steem hood & its peeps
(Share a little about the communities you belong to, discord servers you frequent and perhaps a handful of the awesome people you follow)

Sort:  

Aye, I'd like a photo dApp that's more like a game. I already mentioned a few sites that are not blockchain-based but have their own ideas of rewarding activity. And are quite successful. Why don't we become such right here :)

Yes! Yes we should. I'll tell you about my idea sometime soon and see if you're interested. :)

Now I'm interested ;)

Cool story. Very much like mine, although I am NOT tech savvy so you have surpassed me in half the time.
I wish there were a side chain called Steem for Dummies that stayed the same, didn't have all these hives and tribes and whatnot, no upvote curve, no downvotes, no tokens. Just straightforward steem to at least get our bearings before we start having to fend for ourselves among the bigger fish. I think we lose a lot of people who just don't have the time to understand how this place works. I love it here though!

Oooooh, that's an idea! Steem for Dummies! That'd be a great seller!

Yeh... Steem for Dummies would have been useful back then LOL

Glad to have met you here. 😊

You are right on about the keys WW.

Thank you! There have been so many great people here, I can't imagine not having the group just an ALT-TAB away!

I really enjoy your story, smart and fun! also the photo is fantastic!🤣🤣🤣
Epic man! Keep it up!✌️

It was a fun story! Loved it!

I think you're great, with a great sense of humor. Says the way you made your presentation.

I have read so many of these stories today and they are all amazing, but @wwwiebe's one had me laughing the whole way through! Nothing as satisfying as a good laugh! Thanks Victor :D

Love your Steem story, @wwwiebe. I totally agree with you that 56 hours a day would be really nice! I would spend most of it on Steem. There are so many people creating interesting content.

I also agree that it’s so great to make a little money just for being social and even goofy!

I would have no real life left! HAHAHAHA

Thanks for mentioning me as a rock, together with the others. Thats how we want to be remembered hahaah and yes we will stay here and answer all the questions we already answered a 1000 times but also that iOS commitment and nesseccary.
Thank you for the share and we are glad you found us, and steemit.
You bring a lot and you know i am a fan and i will for sure make the 52 weeks this year.
Happy weekend
Britt

You guys are an essential and integral part of this community - newbies would literally fall apart without you so @wwwiebe is quite right in his term for you and your team over at @steemterinal!

LOL! You used Google+?!?!?! I think you must be the only person that I know of that was there!

lol! I did! I really enjoyed the photography circles; I didn't have much use for anything else. I'm hoping that the photography communities I see popping up here are a good replacement.

I think the photography communities here are well suited to this medium.... music is less good I think!

Interesting #Steem Story! Since I got myself a new camera and upped my photography game I've really been enjoying having a place like Steem to share them too!
I want to get more into photography so I appreciate you sharing the photography communities here on Steem. I'll have to go check out Photostreem.
Thanks for sharing your story!

What a great delivery on the story. You have an interesting presentation on all of your posts and no matter what you write, it's amusing to peruse all the way through, if you can get there without guffawing.

Yes. I guffaw some days. Deal with it.

When I get home, I should tackle this posting, hoping it isn't too late. I have enjoyed reading the stories and found that most of us come here clueless and finally figure it out, only to have them change the rules. All over again.

Le sigh.

Upped and Steemed

!tip

🎁 Hi @wwwiebe! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

Check out @dswigle blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Loading...

🎁 Hi @wwwiebe! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @jaynie!

@jaynie wrote lately about: Collective Inspiration And Influence Feel free to follow @jaynie if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Great work on your #mysteemstory story @wwwiebe, I'm so glad you tackled this challenge. 🙏

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for the shout-out! 🤗