PowerHouseCreatives Contest | The Best Thing You've Bought(Contest Results)

artembeliaikin_ApQYtOlFfIunsplash.jpg
Photo by Photo by Artem Beliaikin on Unsplash

Spending Spree

Recently, I helped a friend customized and ordered a gaming laptop. She wasn't as excited as me because you know... boys being boys and their gadgets. I knew every knick-knack there was to build an awesome rig and I even enjoyed my time explaining some of the specifications to her.

The whole reason why I felt that helping her choose the right laptop was because about a few years ago, she bought a really expensive gaming laptop but once she got it, it had A LOT of hardware and software problems. My friend, being shy and all that, she didn't dare to go ask for a full warranted replacement. She stuck to that laptop until today when she finally got to enjoy something she bought herself. I wanted her to KNOW what a good laptop is so this motivated me to help her buy this gift.

This week's challenge would probably be a bit more interesting and would challenge you to think out of your box. What is that one thing that you've bought that you think is worth it? Or the best? Tell us why in your entry.

PS : This contest is created only for the members of #powerhousecreatives.


The Best Thing You've Bought


 

Criteria :

  1. Tell us what did you buy and why.

  2. The entry must not be less than 350 words.

  3. Add a nice title to your entry. (Extra points for nice titles)

  4. A brief creative thought about that thing.

 

Submission :

  1. Your Entries(Steemit Post)are to be posted here in the 'community-contest' Channel.

  2. One entry is allowed per participant.

  3. This contest must be done as a Steemit Post.

  4. Post title must include 'PowerHouseCreatives Contest' but with your own title.

 

Rewards :

There will be Top 3 Favourites (1 Steem Each + 1 selected rank perk)

 

SPECIAL RANK PERKS :

will be able to win extra reward prizes according to their current rankings. Applicable only to first prize winners unless stated otherwise.

THE PEEPS ✩ : Normal Prize

ENTHUSIASTS ✩✩ : +1 Steem

BRONZE MEMBERS ✩✩✩ : +1.5 Steem

SILVER MEMBERS ✩✩✩✩ : +2 Steem

GOLD MEMBERS ✩✩✩✩✩ : +3 Steem

 

Deadline :

Sunday Night, 15/03/2020, 5.59PM (Cape Town) - Contest Ended


Top Favourite Picks (1 Steem Each + 1 Rank Perk)

I Bought a Hippy Van!! (Classic VW Kombi)
by @rynow


image.png

Photo by @rynow

I have always loved old classic cars, and in particular old VW's. I belong to a Whatsapp group off old VW Air-cooled cars, and one day one of the group members, posted that a local school for the deaf had a few retired cars for-sale out on tender.

Among the cars on tender was this old VW Bus that was used as transport for the school kids!! I did not let any grass grow under my feet and obtained the tender documents and put in a tender for this for this bus. As I only saw the bus on photos that was posted on the whattsapp group, I only put in a low tender of R37 500. (About 2300)

So Happy I Took The Leap and Bought... by @porters

image.png
Photo by @porters

Instantly my new Canon PowerShot SX60 HS camera came to mind. It was a long time coming but oh! what a difference it has made in my photography and dare I say parts of my life!

When I first moved into the forested community in northern Saskatchewan I was quite taken with the beauty surrounding me and wanted to capture that beauty somehow. My first instinct was to paint it but alas my painting skills were not that good plus my patience wasn't there either so I thought I'd capture it through photography! I had a simple little camera back before memory cards came out and was limited to how many photos I could take without downloading them to another device. I was visiting my sister on the coast and her partner had a nice simple Canon he was taking pictures with so I decided to treat myself and get a Canon Point and Shoot. It was the PowerShot A495.

Attract with your mind what you want to have, but do it big by @carolinacardoza


image.png
Photo by @carolinacardoza

What a great surprise I got on Tuesday when I saw what the Power House Creatives contest organized by my friend @zord189 was about. Every week it fills us with surprises and invites us to travel back in time. This week's contest is about remembering that thing you loved to buy and generated a lot of happiness.

In my life many things have generated happiness, I have bought tourist packages that have taken us to great places, I bought years ago a dog called tutti that although it turned my house upside down filled our lives with joy, I have also bought clothes that when I wear them I look beautiful; even the book "One hundred years of solitude" special edition by the author Gabriel Garcia Marquez, fills me with satisfaction.

My most precious paintings. by @marybellrg


image.png
Photo by @marybellrg

There are material things we buy throughout our lives. Some of them pass by without any sorrow or glory like any other object. Others become our favorite and most appreciated objects because of their daily use in our chores and tasks. However, there is a third kind of things that are those that you buy and have a special emotional meaning.

Things that are material but have an emotional value throughout life, which can make them mean one of the best things you have ever bought or acquired.


Honorable Mentions (0.5 Steem)

Simply the Best by @free-reign

image.png
Things: Image by Free-Photos from Pixabay

I’m not much of a materialist. I like nice, well-made things if we’re talking about physical things, but once I have the things, I’m not even looking at anything beyond that. I’m not frugal and I’m not greedy. If I have what I need, I’m comfortable.

This week’s contest is a pretty tough one, as I’ve had a really hard time trying to think what I’ve bought over my lifetime that qualifies as the best thing I’ve purchased.

The Best Thing You've Bought by @goldendawne


image.png
Photo by @goldendawne

I stumbled over deciding what to share with this contest post. Sure I could have shared one of the many gardening and homesteading items I've purchased. Perhaps the new laptop I got a few years ago. Or even the 23-quart pressure canner. But there was one thing... one living thing we purchased last year that has won my heart over. She has become a mainstay in our lives here on the homestead. She makes us all smile, laugh and feel a little silly at times.

Nature Already Does It Better Than We Could Ever Do - My Introduction to the Community by @adalger

image.png
Photo by @adalger

First of all I want to thank all of you for accepting me as a new PowerHouseCreative into your ranks. I saw this community already several times and always wondered what it is about. After some in-depth research I decided to apply to you and I am so happy that you accepted me. This here is my first entry to the PowerHouseCreatives and to one of your great contests by @zord189. By the way, if you want to learn more about me, there is a link at the bottom of the post ^^

Better Than Sliced Bread by @redheadpei


image.png
Photo by @redheadpei

Buying my first new car was really a highlight as the one before that was an old rust bucket with the back floor boards starting to weaken.

Buying an automatic clothes washer and dryer certainly ranks up there with the sliced bread for I watched my mother take all day while cleaning clothes in the old wringer wash machine and then hang the them outside to dry. In winter she would bring them inside to finish drying as they would freeze stiff as a board in the cold. Amazingly they would finish drying inside quite nicely. Those were the days when you didn’t throw your clothes in the laundry at every whim but hung them up and worn them another day if they were still clean.

MY BEST BUY EVER ~ s o u p m a k e r b y P h i l i p s
by @brittandjosie


image.png
Photo by @brittandjosie

I have a great kitchen mate, its my soupmaker, i make fresh soup every day and the boys therefor “ drink “ fresh veggies every day. I never have to say “ eat you green veggies “ or “ you can only leave the table when you eat your veggies “ i have no trouble and they love the soup. They dont know anything different. Its a espresso cup a day that hopefully keeps corona away.

Relax The Back by @justclickindiva


image.png
Photo by @justclickindiva

You may remember last year that I needed a device to help with my lower back pain and tension in my neck. I wrote to Santa, and his elves began working on a unique Christmas gift that would help. Unfortunate circumstances occurred at his Workshop that forced him to outsource my gift to an U.S. company who finished designing the product.

Little things that make life more comfortable- [Eng/ esp] - Pequeñas cosas que hacen más cómoda la vida by @mllg


image.png
Photo by @mllg

It is funny such a long title if we are going to talk about little things, but ... the truth is that comfort helps happiness. That's what I think. And if we can carry out the daily routines without being uncomfortable, we will be in a better mood to live with the other people around us. So I'm going to talk about some little things that make me say, daily, how good we bought this.

Thank You

Thank you for sending in your original and awesome entries once again for PowerHouseCreatives weekly contest. We love your constant support and participation from all of you for this weekly contest. Please do drop by and give all these amazing entries some nice loving and engage with these amazing authors. Even better, give them a follow if you're all about the quality content on Steem.

Want to join our awesome family?


If you want to be part of this awesome community, PowerHouseCreatives is always interested to meet people with amazing personalities and great content creators. If you want to know how to join us? Head on over to @jaynie, our PowerHouseCreatives founder profile and be on the lookout for an invitation link post.

If you like what I do, check out my other posts on meetups, animation, and designs.

Get your Personalized Steemit Profile Signatures

DM me on discord : zord189#7776

Credits to @pinstory & @coloringiship for this lovely photo of me.


Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

Thank you so much for this competition and also picking my post as one of the winners.

Congratulations to all the other contributors and winners.!!

I decided to share my story but unfortunately missed it. But it's great to see others. :)

Thank you for your support. Here's a !shop as token of appreciation.

Hi~ zord189!
@bossku has gifted you 1 SHOP!

Currently you have: 25 SHOP

View or Exchange SHOP Please go to steem-engine.com.

Are you bored? Play Rock,Paper,Scissors game with me!

That was a fun contest - thank-you @zord189! Thank-you also for choosing my post with taking the leap to get a decent camera!
Congratulations to the other winners too and everyone who got honorable mentions!

Congratulations @zord189! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 470000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 480000 upvotes.
Your post was the most upvoted of the day
You distributed more than 84000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 85000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Thanks @zord189 for a fun contest. Congrats to everyone and I’m pleased to be included in mentions. 💕

Congrats to the winners and thank you @zord189 for hosting!

CONGRATULATIONS to everyone!!!

Congratulations @zord189!
Your post was mentioned in the Steem Hit Parade in the following category:

  • Upvotes - Ranked 4 with 1095 upvotes