I am preparing to parboil and mill my rice for consumption

in Homesteading5 months ago

HELLO HIVE

Just after so many farmers have harvested their rice farmers that are in urgent need of it are already getting it parboiled and milled within the next few days , the cost of rice in the market now makes it difficult for people to afford it right now. It is becoming expensive on a daily b
asis and the it is not showing any sign of slowing down with the festive Season approaching more farmers are trying to hold on a little bit and watch how the market unfolds and that has resulted in a level of scarcity of the local rice and the rice in the cost of the imported rice .

IMG_20231204_111405_926.jpg

I don't plan to purchase any rice from the market since the one from my farm is ready am already preparing to parboil and mill it , To do that I have to first soak the rice in water for a few days let's say two days then I can now parboil it . There is still no definite reason why we soak it before

IMG_20231204_102953_624.jpg

IMG_20231204_103006_917-1.jpg

IMG_20231204_103022_078.jpg

parboiling but that's how my mom had been doing it so am just taking up after her , for now the rice is still in the water and the parboiling will be in two days time.

Thank you for visiting my blog

Sort:  

It's good to see that you are preparing your harvested rice for consumption. At least it will save you of the financial stress of purchasing from the market

That's true
The cost of rice is too high this days

It's a pity that inflation is eating us away and colonizing us. In lieu of that, it's best to go for what one can afford and it's good you can find a remedy in place of the foreign and local made ones. Please tag me when it's ready for consumption.