Quick Starting my Microgreens ~ the Traveling Homestead

Homesteading and traveling don't seem like they would go together but, I try my best. Finding myself in suburban USA once again I have brought out my collection of ceramic pots from where I stashed them on my last visit and begun my rapid microgreen garden. The leafy greens are coming along nicely, would you like to take a tour?

If you are short on time growing a garden of micro-greens is a direct path to rapid harvests. Personally, I do a combination of sowing seeds directly and purchasing starts from a nursery.

Mizuna is a very unique type of fresh green. Spicy like mustard, yet delicate like arugula. I grabbed this six pack during a visit to a organic nursery.

Some will go into ceramic pots while others are to be transplanted into the garden where they will grow to full sides. Hopefully they will self seed too!

The real power behind my micro greens garden is the germination of fast growing seeds. I sow the seeds densely in a tray or pot so that hundreds will sprout together and be cut when they have grown a few inches.

Radish and mustard seeds germinate within a few days of sowing in soil. I simply sprinkle them over a pot of soil, sprinkle a thin layer of compost on top and water daily.

Within just a few days the sprouts have sprouted!

Red lettuce, purple kale, and crimson "greens" are my favorites. Whenever possible I jump for these unique colors.

And then sometimes, food it food. If all I have is a mason jar and a bag of seeds from the grocery store, that is fine and that is what I will be using. In this situation I am super lucky to have organic compost, a nearby nursery, and a collection of ceramic pots at my disposal. Using organic seeds and plants whenever possible is my preference but, what is most important to me is to have food nearby even when I am away from the main homestead.

These mustard seeds traveled with my from Argentina and are now happily growing in this suburban California garden along with all the other potted plants. In just a few days they will be ready for a "haircut" and will be added to some meal. I will capture this harvest in a future, micro-homesteading post!

Sort:  

The bags and jars placed for planting of microgreens are actually doing very fine seeing how fresh they're.

I really like all of them. I also try to grow as many vegetables as possible at home. Can you tell us about your soil mix? Because despite being in comparatively small pots, your plants are growing very well.
Sending Love and Ecency Vote!

50% compost 50% potting soil is my preferred mix. Good luck with your vegetable growing!!

Unrelated but I’ve come to like your “green posts” so much that anytime I see them I shout Yes! Calendula!!😂😂❤️

Yay!! I am so glad to hear it because I feel like crafty posts are more fun. But I do enjoy sharing about the greens too. 🌱💚

🥰🥰

Great, bookmarked! 👍🙏

Coming here from your other microgreens post. Such a wonderful process right? We put seeds in the ground and in less than a week we can harvest them. Super healthy and so delicious. Your post reminded me that I need to grow my mustard greens!