You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Apocalyptic Homesteading (Day 1222)

in Homesteading2 months ago

Good to know!! Ultimately we plan to do a double composting toilet and one day an incinerating toilet if they ever become more accesable. But in the mean time I will be collecting buckets with lids to give this a try! Thanks for the guidance!!

Sort:  

Yep. The double composting toilet is a good setup. I like the incinerating toilets also and may wind up having to do one at my new place.

What I did with the buckets (and the tent they were in) was to put it all about thirty feet from my chicken coop to help keep the wildlife away. If the urine is kept out of them and sufficient cover material is used the odor from the buckets is not bad and fades rather rapidly but the animals can always smell it.