Sort:  

Oh man I know! And can you believe that the person who sold them to me kept more than 20 Quails in a cage that size? With no other space during the day for them to move that's just cruelty, but it is how shit works in the 3rd world, it sucks. I am planning on building them a small fence for them to spend the day and then sleep in the cage :D

The sandbath is a good idea, I will look more into this, perhaps inside the fence which will be in grass so there won't be any issues if they mess up the sand pool lol.

I didn't know you've had quails for so long! Any more advices?

In the EU it is perfectly legal to have 14 quails per m².
So I assume most commercial breeders do exactly that.
It is not a 3rd world thing.

The sandbath will get messy. They poop in it then bath in it.
It means, I have to swap the sand (dirt/ashes - whatever you got) quite often and sometimes I just take it out of their cage for a while (I use an old baking tray).

Whenever I give them fresh sand, they go nuts and cover themselves with dust and play in it. It helps them against some parasites. It is also their natural instinct.

Quails were my start into having animals.
The fact that they need high protein feed makes the whole enterprise non sustainable in my opinion. If shit goes down, where would I buy soy based feed?

I am waiting for them to die of old age, which should start happening next year. I will not get any more then.

My living situation doesn't really allow me to have chickens, but they are much better in terms of feed varietes (kitchen scraps and things) and lay much bigger eggs.

So my general advice would be to upgrade to 5 chickens next :)