Butternut squash

I enjoy picking random seeds packets and growing them. I think it's such a fun way to try something new.
You plant it,watch it grow and then learn how to best prepare it. This year I did so with butternut squash. Growing up there was only always buttercup squash. Similar names and flavor for sure, but different none the less. I've tried various squashes since childhood, and actually had a great crop of acorn squash last year, but alas had never tried the butternut.

I didnt plant them in the most ideal placement. They actually got delivered late in the season and knowing it would he a sprawling squash they weren't planted in an idea spot so fruiting was limited. Got about 6 good size heads and a few small ones. But many were those vines long and beautiful. At least ten feet of growth.

So anyways I was saving them for something special, Thanksgiving!

img_0.08226470496891335.jpg

I like to use a grapefruit spoon to take out the seeds. The little teeth make short work of it.

img_0.6163064473032172.jpg

I decided to go extra flavorful with the dish, salt pepper, some cinnamon, and a little local maple syrup. Tossed with a small amount of olive oil.

In the oven for about an hour. Cooking it is easy. Chopping it up is the work with squash. But not too bad.

It was a delightful dish!! Yummy yummy!

img_0.2567723382706679.jpg

Sort:  

Looks delicious! I thought that was acorn squash? We’ve been getting a bunch of them from our CSA lately!

Was this a type of butternut I was unfamiliar with? Butternut here are always orangy-tan and elongated with bulbous bottoms...

Small garden - butternuts crop August 2021.jpg