The Flicker Haven Farm Files-Blooming Bulbs, Fertilizing, and Seed Starting Galore!

in Homesteading14 days ago


IMG_2176.jpg


Flicker Haven Farm Files page divider.png


Even though it's beyond rather chilly around here, plants are still doing their thing and so am I. We are all just more than a bit cold while conducting our business.

And when I say cold, I mean cold. My thermometer barely hit 40 degrees as a high yesterday, and there's been frequent snow flurries over the past 48 hours.

IMG_2169 (1).jpg

The bulbs around the farm that I planted last year don't seem to be bothered by the last little gasp of winter weather at all.

IMG_2178.jpg

I am absolutely in love with the white squill, I put in tons of the little things last November, and they have just made me giddy every time I spy their delicate little blooms as I go about my farm chores and such.

IMG_2171.jpg

Another thing that always causes me pause as I am rambling about doing chores is the daffodils. They are so cheer-inducing, and that is a needed thing right now as I tend to ponder my Dickensian-orphan state when I have been chorin these days. (my form is clothed in ratty chore clothes and my extremities are freezing).

IMG_2173.jpg

But then, well, I spy a hyacinth, be it a grape one or a standard beauty, and the numbness of my fingers, it becomes a faded memory. Well, for at least few seconds anyway, I'm not complaining.

IMG_2177.jpg

Yesterday, after admiring all the bulb blooming beauty, I applied the first fish and kelp emulsion to the garlic crop. I am so pleased with how the garlic is progressing this year. I wasn't so pleased with Teela-cat when she ran under the downpour of fragrant fertilizer and became a rotting seafood scented feline, but you know how it goes.

IMG_2180.jpg

I also got a few square feet of mixed lettuce, radishes, spinach, and kale seeded yesterday as well. That operation was conducted while under a feline assault of the likes that has never been seen. When the black cat decided the best way to get my attention was to slide through my freshly prepared soil like a base runner stealing home plate, well, I will admit that I the words that escaped my vexed carcass were as colorful as the blooming bulbs.

IMG_2181.jpg

One of the warmer homestead chores that I got to conduct, and am most appreciative of, was the final bit of sprout transplanting. My ghost pepper, habanero, anaheim, and rainbow bell pepper sprouts were finally ready to plunk into the plug tray with the rest of the tomatoes and jalapeno seedlings. That job took all of ten minutes, but I got to be warm while doing it, so there was much gratitude.

IMG_2182.jpg

And since, I hid in my bathroom and did the job, there was a lack of feline intervention. Which made me double glad and gratitudish. There must be something in the air. Or the cats have been hitting the 'nip again. Friggen heathens...

Next week will be more cold weather crops seeding time, but the weather is looking much warmer, and my fingers and toes are already singing an aria of elation in anticipation!!


Flicker Haven Farm Files page divider.png


And as most of the time, all of the images in this post were taken on the author's marked safe from rampaging cats iPhone. The text divider image was made in Canva.


Sort:  

Love all your bulbs! So pretty. Sometimes supervisors mess up…

They really do at times lol! And thanks😊

!PIZZA

How do plants survive in cold weather?
Is that the best time for them to grow or it isn’t?

Some plants like and need the cold weather to grow, like my garlic, it grows under the snow all winter! I even have some bush cherries that will bloom and the flowers are hardy down to 7 degrees Fahrenheit! I love nature😊

!PIZZA

It already looks very promising on your farm! And again I'm looking forward to seeing the many blogs about all the growing seedlings, plants, and the harvests and recipes you're going to create later.

PS. Glad you got to warm up in the bathroom ... Here it's cold too and I can't wait until the weather improves!

It's almost like you know me more than a little bit lol! I am so excited about all the cool things I am going to grow, craft, and create this summer, and I am even more excited you are looking forward to seeing it all, just like I am looking forward to all your beautiful photography😊

It's still on the chilly side here, but at least the sun's out!

Off to clean the chicken coop....

!PIZZA

The nip is already growing all around my farm so I presume it is for you too. Our cat turns into a bit of asshole when he is nippin so I try to pull it out near the house so if he wants it he has to work for it. Maybe that's why he's pissed...

Damn nip addicts and their a-hole antics! I died a bit when I read that you made your cat work for it though, lol lol!

!PIZZA

Manually curated by ewkaw from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you!!

We used to have a nice big catnip plant but it vanished. Maybe hubby whacked it off with the weedeater while cutting down other things. The cats did enjoy it. My squill is almost done blooming, and the grape hyacinths and regular hyacinths are doing their thing, same as yours. I don't know if the daffodils are blooming yet, as I have been gone all week. I'll find out whenever it is I get home. Meanwhile, I am enjoying my sister's daffodils.

I'm glad to hear you made it home safe and sound, I still haven't got over to the RV spot to rake up the needles yet, but it shall be accomplished before the end of the week, so then you will have pine needle mulch to add to your space lol!

!PIZZA

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
generikat tipped scribblingramma
generikat tipped rafzat
generikat tipped hetty-rowan
@generikat(5/15) tipped @goldenoakfarm
generikat tipped flemingfarm