Apocalyptic Homesteading (Day 1239)

in Homesteading25 days ago

Hello Everyone!

Mostly sleepless nights, A long blur of activity, Tossing stuff away, Cleaning an old tent & Doing too much to write about!

Alright, I am beginning the writing rather late this evening... because once again I kept putting off starting it for much the same reasons as yesterday. At least I have been sitting here at the computer this entire time thinking about it... and not failing to be on time out of negligence (forgetfulness) or anything like that.

Last night I was up super late again and had a heck of a time getting to sleep... which seems to have become the norm for me over the last week or so now. When it comes right down to it the stress (and all the uncertainty) has been getting to me... and it seems like no matter what I do I cannot quite shake off the stress long enough to simply drift off to sleep at a decent hour.

Somehow I once again managed to get up rather early in the morning (after only getting a few hours sleep) and starting my day by doing my Hive engagement routine... much like I have done for the last several months now. Today though, I do not think that I managed to do anything other than some mindless scrolling... before calling it good enough and getting outdoors in short order.

It has (at this point) been a heck of a long day... but I will do my best to try to recap everything even though I have to admit that recently everything seems like one long blur of activity by the time I begin writing these entries. I have also noticed that there are often numerous things of late that I intend to write about... but fail to do so for one reason or another so bear with me.

Since getting that other tent (that has most of my off grid gear in it) sorted has been nagging at me I headed over to it after putting all the painted lumber away... and I even remembered to bring the trash can with me. Having forgotten to do that last Sunday I missed a chance to send more stuff to the landfill... and yeah that small failure has been bothering me all week long... so I made it a point to not miss it today.

As I have said before most of the stuff stored in that tent has gotten destroyed by the rodents... so a big part of that project has more to do with salvaging the small amount of gear that I can... and tossing the rest of it away... than it does with cleaning and packing. I will not detail all the tedious sorting that I did in there today... but basically I got two big bags of stuff crammed into the trash can before dragging it out to the road later in the day.

One interesting thing that I found in that tent today was an old camping tent that I forgot that I had... and somehow the rodents had not gotten to it at all which is something that I found to be quite surprising. After dumping it out on the ground I realized that it is by no means a good tent for living in... but it might work okay to create some storage with.

The last time I had that tent setup it had gotten extremely muddy... and thinking that I probably would not use it again I had simply shoved it in a large trash bag without even giving it a cursory cleaning. Given that I had no idea what kind of shape that it was in (besides being filthy) I decided to haul it back to the shelter site and set it up.

There really was not a large enough flat area to set it up at (aside from in the road) so I decided to dismantle that wooden border (for my elder dog) that I built on the deck all those months ago... and set the tent up on the deck itself. Of course doing all that took quite a good amount of time... because I had to unscrew all the lumber, haul it to the sawhorses (where the painted lumber had been) and then sweep all the leaves off the deck so that the deck itself was clean.

After a good bit of fumbling around, I got the tent setup and wound up screwing it to the deck with some decking screws so that it would not move around on me while I cleaned it... or get blown away if the wind picked up again. All total the tent is sixteen feet wide and takes up almost the entire deck... but at least it fit on there... just barely!

I then swept it out, sprayed it down 'inside and out' with water... and then scrubbed the floor with the broom as best I could to get the bulk of the mud removed. There is a slight tilt to the deck itself... so a lot of water pooled at the rear of the tent... but hopefully there are enough 'pin holes' in the floor that the water will drain and tomorrow I will be able to sweep it again to get rid of any remaining crud.

Honestly, I am unsure if I even want to set that tent up at the new place given that it is not all that great of a tent... but what I might use it for is to put stuff in before I move. To explain my thinking there... I will have to take down the shop tent at some point... and I have been racking my brain on how to protect everything afterwards until I can get it all loaded into the moving truck.

The thing about that shop tent is that it is an extremely time consuming process to either set it up or dismantle it... and I want to avoid having to spend a bunch of time on it while the moving truck is here. I also need to clean its canopy (and side walls) really well before taking it down... so having that other tent to put all my gear in while I do those things might prove to be incredibly handy.

Well, I have rambled on enough for this entry and although I did a bunch of other odds and ends stuff today... I just do not have it in me to spell anything else out. I hope that everyone is doing well. Ta ta for now.



The blackhaw has begun to blossom!

Thanks for reading!

Please check out the Homesteading Community!

Cheers! & Hive On!

All content found in this post is mine!

Sort:  

I was wondering what you were going to do with your things to keep them out of the weather once you took the shop tent down. That will work out great.

Yeah it is going to be a tight squeeze but should work well enough.

Congratulations @jacobpeacock! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Feedback from the April Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - March 2024 Winners List
Be ready for the May edition of the Hive Power Up Month!