Apocalyptic Homesteading (Day 1252)

in Homesteading15 days ago

Hello Everyone!

A big storm rolls in, Another late night, Finding more metal to scrap & The day has been way too long to come up with a good blurb!

Alright, I am running about two hours behind schedule with my writing routine... due to a rather gnarly storm blowing in right when I was about to begin writing. Hopefully, the worst part of that storm system is over... because the thunder kept shaking the cabin which of course gave the dogs quite the fright.

I was once again up super late binge watching that same series... and more or less stressing over the coming move... and all the financial stuff involved with it. The other thing that I was obsessing over was how to set everything up at the new place for the dogs... and how I am going to cope with leaving them on site while I go to work at the farm.

When I finally drifted off to sleep it was close to five in the morning... and during the four or five hours of sleep that I got afterwards... I had some really intense dreams. They were so intense that even at this late hour I still remember a good bit of them if that tells you anything.

After doing my best to shake off the dreams... and getting some espresso in me... I did my usual Hive engagement routine... but did my best to not get too caught up in it all. The main reason for that, is because I wanted to research some sheds... and try to figure out if I could not only get a 'rent to own' one... but also find someone to do some tree work to make room for it if I do get one.

I really dislike the 'rent to own' option because I will wind up paying two or three times more than what the building is actually worth... but at this point I am running out of time and have to figure something out. Doing things that way is not a whole lot better than getting a storage unit... and although it will be more expensive than a storage unit... at least I will have all my gear on site instead of it being several miles away.

Anyways, I got outdoors rather quickly after all that jazz... and hauled the wagon over to that other storage tent... so that I could lug a load of the stuff stored in there back to the shelter site. Although I was mainly wanting to start cleaning some of that stuff up... I also wanted to go through it to see if I could find more stuff that I can sell at the scrap yard.

Having gotten most of my 'scrap metal' (which I would never consider to be 'scrap' without feeling such a financial strain) sorted through yesterday... it was pretty slim pickings but I did find some more copper wire as well as some more aluminum items. I would not say that it added a lot to my pile... but every little bit will help.

As far as the other stuff goes... it was a bunch of odds and ends that I rinsed off and got the original container for it filled with water to break up all the crud that had accumulated in it. That particular container has seen much better days... and I am debating on whether I should try taping it together, cutting off the upper half of it that is broken... or just throw it away.

I am unsure at what point in the day that I decided to get that dog bedding removed from the barrel... but whoa it was so heavy that I wound up tipping the barrel on its side to drain the water before 'walking' it to the clothes line near the chicken coop. The blanket was so heavy (with water) that it made the clothes line sag to the point that the blanket almost touched the ground once I managed to get it draped over the line itself.

Well, I did a bunch of other stuff today as well... but I am really struggling against the fatigue to write this... and am just going to wrap it up instead of continuing to fumble along. I hope that everyone is doing well. Ta ta for now.


I wish that I felt the way Blackie looks!

Thanks for reading!

Please check out the Homesteading Community!

Cheers! & Hive On!

All content found in this post is mine!

Sort:  

Blackie is also showing some age, but he looks good.

She is in good shape for being almost twelve.

Wow, I did not know she was that old, she does look good for it.

Yep my three 'young' dogs were all born on Mother's day of 2012.