Apocalyptic Homesteading (Day 1253)

in Homesteading14 days ago

Hello Everyone!

A deep sleep, More rainy weather, Scrapping the scrap metal idea, Attempting to be productive & Fears and concerns aplenty!

Alright, I am starting my writing routine exactly on time this evening... even though I kind of want to keep zoning out watching that entertaining romantic comedy series that I have been watching lately. I should really start 'milking' my watch time for it because I am almost on the last season of it... and have not found anything worth watching after it.

After doing my writing routine last night I almost immediately zonked out... and finally got a good night's rest full of some very deep slumber. I slept so soundly that not even the storms continuing to roll through could jostle me awake.

At some point very early in the morning two of the dogs woke me up because they wanted to be let outside... and although I can usually either stay awake long enough to let them back in... or wake back up to do so... this time I was completely out of it... and they wound up being stuck outside in the rain. Before you get your knickers in a wad over it... they were both fine and not actually stuck in the rain... because one had crawled under the solar shack and the other was laying under the outdoor table when I finally did wake up again a few hours later.

Honestly, I was rather relieved to see that it was still raining... because I did not feel super stressed about having to get outside... and begin the relentless cleaning and packing routine that I have been on for who knows how long now. In other words, it was nice to be able to settle into doing my Hive engagement routine... without feeling like I was 'wasting daylight' or slacking.

By the time the rain cleared up late in the afternoon, I managed to get myself in gear... and got that dog bedding that I set to soaking in hot bleach water (to kill the mites and fleas) yesterday pulled out of the barrel. That blanket was not nearly as heavy as the one that I washed the day before... but instead of hanging it up I just set it on my PVC chair so that the water would drain away... which as a side note is where it is still sitting!

I was hoping that the weather would hold off longer because I wanted to go fetch more stuff from that other tent with the wagon... but I only got halfway there before it started pouring rain again. Although I briefly considering lugging the wagon back with me... I quickly abandoned that idea, stood the wagon on end (so it would not fill with water) and made a beeline back to the cabin.

Anyways, later in the day I got a message that the person that was going to scrap that copper, aluminum and bronze/brass for me... would not be able to do it like we were planning on. Not to get too hung up on the reasons why... but it basically boils down to some new laws (in both the adjacent state they are in and the state that I am in) which requires a permit to transfer and sell scrap in both states. I mean I totally get why such laws are necessary given the amount of thievery and nefarious shit going on... but at the same time it just rankles me!

That news was really quite the bummer... because I was really counting on that money in order to afford getting the dog crates that I need. The other part that gets on my nerves about it (aside from wasting two days on getting all the metal sorted) is that I ruined a bunch of otherwise good cables and AC to DC adapters which now are frigging useless.

On a different note. My little brain has been in overdrive for far too long with the moving, packing... and the damned financial aspect of things. That stuff combined with continually running out of food (because I am burning through calories like crazy doing stuff) and my food assistance being cut short... I am by far not in a very pleasant mood. In fact I am downright irritable, often hungry and internally seething over winding up in a tent again... and less than ecstatic about starting from scratch again in life.

I also cannot shake the feeling that just by camping on my own land that I will draw the 'curiosity' of nosy neighbors... and probably wind up getting hassled in one way or another because regardless of the fact that I have lived like that many times before... folks are going to draw all the wrong damned conclusions. A lot of that I can just shrug off to 'pearl clutching and pigeon holing' but I do have animals to think about... and yeah dogs, hens and roosters do make a good bit of racket which will alas draw attention to me and them.

In other words I do not anticipate some 'smooth integration' with the locals... or anything like that... given that I will not have much of a buffer (of woods) between me and all my neighbors. My elder dog also tends to whine when I am not in the immediate vicinity of her... which is something she never did before becoming disabled... and I can already picture what most folks will think of the whining when I am off working at my new job.

There really is not any good solutions to it all... because it is not like I can have an insulated building to leave her in given that the only site that a shed (if I manage to even get a shed) can fit... or is even accessible... is right near the road and it will be filled with my belongings. I have considered trying to get a second shed built on site (in that area that I am going to camp in) but even if I could afford it... there is only a tiny path that leads to that area and no way to easily bring materials to it.

If you have not caught on by now... the entire scenario is a right clusterfuck... and while I occasionally toy with the idea of packing everything I own into a moving truck, driving it to a nearby landfill... and throwing it all away (so that I can use my moving expense money on a driveway and a shed) I also know that is a shit solution. Heck, I already had to borrow three hundred and fifteen dollars out of that fund to pay for the electric service deposit... that I am still unsure on whether I can actually get without having footers and a septic permit... so yeah I am already faced with being short on the moving costs!

Well, I have rambled on enough for this entry and although I could probably spell out more of my 'fears and concerns' I doubt that it will do me any good. I hope that everyone is doing well or well enough. Ta ta for now.


The honeysuckle is blooming!

Thanks for reading!

Please check out the Homesteading Community!

Cheers! & Hive On!

All content found in this post is mine!

Sort:  

!LUV

jacobpeacock, hellsveiah sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/1) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

I know you are facing a lot of unknowns but I hope things will not be as bad as the things going through your mind.

I looked up the cost of arched cabins Arched Cabins LLC offers DIY kit homes that range in size from 64–1,380 square feet and cost between $1,920–$28,520. The smallest model is 64 square feet and costs $1,440, while the most expensive is 30 by 40 feet and costs $19,800. The kit includes everything needed to build the structure, such as a blueprint, floor plates, ribs, a ridge beam, R13 padding for the arched walls, steel roof panels, a ridge cap, silicone trim, and foam inserts for the end caps, and color-coordinated fasteners.

I looked at those cabins a little bit. I need to check the required square footage again (according to the codes) and see what it is to qualify as a dwelling. Pretty neat structures but I need to dig into the reviews of them to see how they hold up over time.

Ok, I thought it was a good price for the smaller ones.

Yeah it is a good price indeed. I would have to look at the shipping cost also but overall they are pretty neat.

By the way I think that I found a shed today from a nearby rent to own place. It won't be super cheap but the monthly payments are a little over a hundred a month. They are going to look at the site and see if it will fit. Will probably write more about it in today's entry but at least I found a storage solution.

That is wonderful

Congratulations @jacobpeacock! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Unveiling the BuzzParty Meetup 2024 Badge