Apocalyptic Homesteading (Day 1262)

in Homesteading16 days ago (edited)

Hello Everyone!

Another peculiar dream, Crafting a long-handled pull saw, Racing against the rain & A late day nap!

Alright, I am starting my writing routine seven minutes early tonight... even though I kind of want to keep sipping espresso and zoning out for a while. Having been running behind schedule the last few days... it is kind of nice to start a bit earlier even if it is only by a handful of minutes.

Last night I was not up quite as late as I was the last few nights... and once I managed to fall asleep I slept rather heavily for the rest of the night. For the second time now I dreamed of the new land... and although it was just as peculiar as the previous dream that I had about it... at least this time it was not super bizarre.

I am unsure exactly when I awoke this morning but it was well after sunrise... and although I immediately dove into my Hive engagement routine I did not spend a whole lot of time on it. At some point I got quite involved in taking care of some correspondences... but eventually I got outdoors and got a few things done.

My main objective was to get a pole saw made so that I can trim the canopy where I currently am... so that the moving truck will not hit any of the low hanging tree branches. Having recently found an old pull saw blade during my packing process I decided to use it (along with a four foot long wooden tool handle) to make the kind of tool that I wanted.

I will not bore you with all the details of the saw's construction... but basically I used a circular saw to cut a groove in the wooden handle to slide the blade into. Then I marked out the preexisting holes on the blade onto the wooden handle, drilled them out and fastened the blade with a few screws and one through-bolt... which I then wrapped with some friction tape for good measure.

Not long after finishing that project I had to put all the tools away because the sky began growing dark... and it was looking like it was about to start raining. The rain did not hold off quite as long as I thought that it would... and I was only able to get a small amount of the laundry removed from the dog yard fence (along with some of my clean packing containers) before it began pouring rain.

Since my boy dog was already acting oddly I had a good idea that a thunder storm was on its way... and no sooner did I get inside the cabin than it started to rumble. After an hour or so of it storming outside (and me taking care of even more correspondences) I finally drifted off for a nap for the remainder of the day.

All in all it was not a super productive day and just doing the small amount of stuff that I did do (along with all the walking around) had my leg aching a bit... so the long nap was quite welcome. Given that I really cannot afford to miss too many days of getting stuff done packing (and will have to contend with the rainy weather to boot) I am going to do my best to start maximizing my daily activities... regardless of that old injury flaring up.

Well, I think that is all the words that I have in me for this entry. I hope that everyone is doing well. Ta ta for now.


The pull saw that I affixed to a long handle.


I forgot that I also had a fire today!


I think these are dandelions!


The base of the dandelion plant!

Thanks for reading!

Please check out the Homesteading Community!

Cheers! & Hive On!

All content found in this post is mine!

Sort:  

That looks like a nice saw you made. You can make all sorts of things from dandelions even tea. My rabbit loves to eat them.

Yep the whole plant is edible.

Congratulations @jacobpeacock! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the month.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Month Challenge - April 2024 Winners List
Hive Power Up Day - May 1st 2024