Apocalyptic Homesteading (Day 1273)

in Homesteading11 days ago

Hello Everyone!

Spelling out my driveway thoughts, Cleaning plumbing parts, More packing less chatter & Dealing with general irritability!

Alright, I am beginning my writing routine about twenty minutes early this evening... so I guess that moving it back by thirty minutes was the right thing to do. Technically, I have been sitting here since around my old start time... but was enjoying 'staring off into space' and relaxing before getting started here.

My sleep cycle is still stuck on that same timeframe that it has been on... and last night I fell asleep almost to the minute of when I fell asleep the previous two nights. As much as I complain about it all... I have yet to find a way to fall asleep earlier... and I am beginning to think that for now that I just need to make my peace with it... and be thankful that I am getting a steady six hours of sleep each night.

This morning I was up at my usual time... and after perusing Hive a bit... I shifted gears and wrote out an entire page of notes for when the fella that might put in a driveway for me calls this weekend. Just going through the process of spelling things out was rather nice... and it sure helped to get my thoughts (and concerns) in order in regards to that project.

I am still unsure how the driveway is going to work out... but I am hoping that it can be done soon so that I can pursue some other options for a shed to get delivered. If the shed company has to construct the shed first (like many of them in that area seem to do) I will need two weeks of lead time before it can get delivered... and yup I am going to be cutting it really close with the timing (before I move) if that is the case.

Anyways, early in the day I gave an old buddy of mine a call just to see how they were doing... and wound up talking on the phone with them for quite some time... which was nice because it was one of those rare days that I was feeling communicative. Oddly enough they were dealing with some pestilence problems of their own... and given my extensive 'adventures' on that front the last few years... I was able to extend to them quite a lot of advice!

Once the phone call wound down, I got outdoors and dove into cleaning up a bunch of plumbing parts that I had first let the rain wash... and then left soaking in bleach water. Of course it was a bit tedious to get all the vermin waste (and residue) off of them... but lately I have been using a cloth glove (instead of a rag) to wash things... and between it and a toothbrush (to clean the inside of the parts) I got everything cleaned up rather nicely.

After all that jazz I got my on demand propane water heater from the shop tent... and finally got it cleaned up as well... which although was not all that tedious of a process... it was a bit of a hassle to get all the acorns and other stuff out of it that the rodents had squirreled away inside the housing. The fuel supply line that the rodents had chewed on was the only part of it that was not salvageable... but like I said in a previous entry I thankfully have a spare one.

Since I want to be able to pack the water heater down into a small container (without the fuel line or water line with the shower head attachment) I wrapped each port with a small piece of a plastic grocery bag... and zip-tied the pieces in place to keep the bugs and especially the dirt dauber wasps out. While I was doing that it dawned on me that before the move... I also need to do that for all of my propane tanks for the same reason.

At some point late in the day (after doing a bunch of other random packing and cleaning related stuff) I decided to empty the fire pit out onto the compost mound... and have a small fire so that I could dispose of some burnables that had been piling up. I also wanted to enjoy the 'ambiance' of it some with some music playing in the background... but no matter what I did I could not manage to sit still for more than a minute or two at a time.

I gotta admit that I have been having some really strong 'general irritability' problems lately... and most of it comes down to me just really disliking uprooting my life. As I have stated numerous times before in other entries... I settle into a new scenario easy enough... but unsettling from a scenario that I am settled into... is a thousand times more challenging.

Another part of that equation is of course my dumb leg injury (that happened to flare up again today) along with the weather not being all that cooperative... and me having to work double time on the sunny days... to make up for all the days I keep losing to the rain. Currently the throbbing in my leg has subsided because instead of taking ibuprofen (which I just do not have the food for at the moment) I took a nice long soak in the outdoor tub... which thankfully did wonders to relieve the inflammation.

Well, I think that is all the words that I have in me for this entry. I hope that everyone is doing well. Ta ta for now.


My prickly pear cactus put out two big flowers like this!


Now that is a ripe blackberry!

Thanks for reading!

Please check out the Homesteading Community!

Cheers! & Hive On!

All content found in this post is mine!