Apocalyptic Homesteading (Day 1277)

in Homesteading16 days ago

Hello Everyone!

Gah the phone addiction returns, Pulling up the irrigation tubing, Soaking the hoses & Challenges aplenty!

Alright, I am starting my writing routine a whole seven minutes early tonight. I could have begun a wee bit earlier... but I got a little caught up doing some correspondences... which is fine and all because I have been enjoying communicating with folks more lately.

I still dislike how much that I have to check my phone throughout the day and (gasp) actually carry it with me when I am working on stuff... but currently I just have to. Hopefully, once I get moved and reasonably setup at the new place... I can work on breaking my phone addiction again... because during the last several months it has unfortunately become a part of my life again.

Last night I was up until around the same time that I was the night before... and had a heck of a time drifting off to sleep once I laid down and shut my eyes. Oddly enough though, I awoke before dawn, got up for a while, zoned out reading stuff online... and then promptly fell back asleep again for another hour or two.

The next time that I woke up it was raining and although I thought that the day was going to be a total wash... the rain eventually stopped and the sun came out. At which point I probably should have gotten outside immediately... but I wound up calling an old friend that I had fallen out of touch with over the years and chatting with them some.

By the time that I actually got outdoors everything had at least dried up some... and I was able to get a good amount of stuff done before a line of thunderstorms blew in late in the afternoon. Given that yesterday's packing endeavors left me with a heck of a lot of burnables, I briefly considered having a fire... but the wind gusted nonstop and I decided not to risk it no matter how much it has been raining lately.

The first thing that I worked on was getting a bunch of small plastic lidded containers out of the trash (that I had thrown away yesterday) because I decided that they would be good to store some fasteners in. I dunno if I ever mentioned it... but I have a lot of fasteners that I still need to sort through that were in coffee cans that the rodents had made quite the mess of.

After tossing the containers in some bleach water to soak (to remove any food residue) I switched gears and trimmed most of the stalks off of those persimmon and cherry saplings that I recently transplanted. In hindsight I wish that I had done that immediately after digging them up... so that they would put the bulk of their energy into growing new roots.

Anyways, one of the things that I have been procrastinating doing is pulling up all my irrigation tubing (and garden hoses) that I had deployed outside the shelter site. Getting everything pulled up was a bit more involving than I thought that it would be... because all kinds of roots, vines and plants had grown over them during the last several years.

The irrigation tubing itself was rather easy to get cleaned up, coiled and tied (so that it would not uncoil) but whoa the garden hoses were so filthy that no amount of scrubbing seemed to get them very clean. I wound up lugging that barrel (that I have been washing stuff in) to outside the dog yard, coiling the hoses into it and then adding more water... so that the hoses could soak for a few days.

On a different note, I am starting (continuing) to doubt my sanity in regards to moving to the new land with all my worldly possessions. I really wish that I had figured out that I needed a driveway earlier... because I would not be racing against the clock at this point to both get one put in... and getting a shed dropped off shortly thereafter.

At least a dozen or more times a day I consider putting the bulk of my gear (and other possessions) in a storage unit... but that not only separates me from the stuff that I will need... but as I have said before... it also leaves me with a monthly bill. It would also complicate the heck out of the actual moving process... and add more mileage to the moving truck which of course means that it will cost more.

I mean seriously the move is already going to be complicated enough given all the factors (like chickens, dogs, trees and of course the terrain at the new place) and making it even more complicated just seems foolish. Not to put too fine of a point on things... but even if we leave my current location at the crack of dawn, ran into no heavy traffic and arrived early... I still have to find a reasonably flat place to camp (away from the damned road) get all the animals secured, setup the temporary dog yard... and setup all the tents!

If the parking scenario was not so atrocious (meaning there is only enough parking for a single vehicle on the edge of the public road) I would probably be looking at recruiting as many people as I could to help out... but alas that just is not the case. Of course, I also do not want to have to manage a circus of people either... so even if I had ample parking I would probably shy away from that solution.

Well, I have rambled on enough for this entry. I hope that everyone is doing well. Ta ta for now.


I feel like I should know what this flowering plant is but I am drawing a total blank!


I finally found where the chickens have been laying eggs!

Thanks for reading!

Please check out the Homesteading Community!

Cheers! & Hive On!

All content found in this post is mine!

Sort:  

I saw the doctor today, he is going to operate on my hand on May 31, and he is taking 3 bones out, I feel sick about this. Getting old sucks.

I hope it goes well and relieves the pain you have been feeling. I love you and ha you are not all that old.

I do, too. I know I have to do something but I did not know he was going to take my bones away, it really makes me feel sick to my stomach. I love you, too and wish I could get one of your hugs.

😅Can never resist guessing the name of the plant.. Carolina horsenettle maybe? Pretty either way.

🏹🏹🏹🔫

!LUV

Yep! That is what it is! You are good at identifying them! 🏹🏹🏹😀

😂😂Haha I'm not...I just really like doing research each time something is new and unknown! 🏹🏹🏹🏹 Learning is fun

jacobpeacock, hellsveiah sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/1) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

Congratulations @jacobpeacock! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 10000 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 11000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

LEO Power Up Day - May 15, 2024