You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Apocalyptic Homesteading (Day 1255)

in Homesteading11 days ago

No I already ran it by him and he is swamped with work. The drive time alone is nearly a two hour round trip. I already considered that someone could steal the blocks and to be blunt I would rather find out that there are thieves around before I get there than afterwards. This ain't my first rodeo!

Sort:  

I know it is not your first rodeo, but I hope it is your last. I did not know he was so far away. I thought if he was going to pick you up for work he lived near your place.

I just like that saying. When I sent folks there to scout it I almost had them pick up a shovel and a rake to leave leaning against a tree near the road to see if anyone would steal them. Yeah but work is different and he would most likely be picking me up on the days that he is already in or near that area.

Oh yeah @myjob I meant to tell you that I definitely hope that it is not my 'last' rodeo! Hopefully, that place works as the stepping stone that I need for a much larger piece of land. I know myself way too well to ever think that just under two acres is enough to keep me occupied.

When it comes down to it I just love having a large buffer of woods (and all its inhabitants) around me that I can tend to. Land stewardship and caretaking is just one of those things that brings me deep satisfaction.

I think you told me this before and I hope one day you get everything you desire.