Nearly done for now (plants planted, until I buy more)

in Homesteading2 years ago

image.png
When I left off 2 days ago with Switching from back to front the above image was where I was.
Old mulch from last year, newly planted Caladiums.
Friday my niece who lives nearby, at my request came and helped me finally get some progress made up front.

20220429_175123.jpg
Before she got here I had raked the pine straw from last year onto the pink sheet (under the rake) then the two of us pulled up oak acorn sprouts, assorted weeds, and she also convinced me to dig up (for transplanting elsewhere) the Grape Hyacinth, several Hostas, and a few other things.
Then we put down the black landscaping fabric

Today, I planted the Heuchera

20220430_185625.jpg
(aka Coral Bells) two varieties

20220430_185715.jpg
Lavender

20220430_185653.jpg
And African Marigolds.
Then I spread the pinestraw I bought but didn't use last year
Remember the rose on the trellis?

image.png
It had a white powdery appearance on the old growth, so, since the new growth didn't have that (then)

20220430_185758.jpg
I cut it all the way back, heavily fertilized it again and planted more Marigolds.
Still to plant, I have Purple Sage and a fragrant variety of Thyme

image.png
Then today, by myself I went out and finished with the pine straw

Mostly finished porch.jpg
(Looking over the porch railing)

image.png

Meanwhile, back at the farm



20220430_155342.jpg

I finally got the rest of my bell peppers, tomatoes and basil planted.
The tall thing is "Bee Balm" and almost right across from it is a delightful variety of Thyme "Lemon Thyme
I have Radishes planted (seeds) down the center of that left hand bed and the one at the back.
I spent a fair amount of THYME (joking) this morning, getting my new baby, a staghorn fern I bought the other day (gasp!) for nearly $50.00 transplanted!

image.png

I've had them before, but never mounted on a board, always in a hanging basket, so I got some pot from Amazon

20220430_114134.jpg
couldn't smoke it 🤣
It's really fresh Sphagnum Moss, and I have moved the staghorn to a basket

20220430_155351.jpg
I am hoping and praying that it comes alive and starts attaching to the basket.

Well, that's all for today, (as if that isn't enough!)

Nearly Done (for now)

by
Jerry E Smith
©4/30/2022
All images are original




cyktlq.png

Sort:  

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you @ecency and @good-karma (or @jarvie , whoever sent this)
The encouragement and vote are always appreciated


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.