A SERIOUS DAM PROBLEM...

in Homesteading2 years ago

I CANNOT COMPLETELY FILL THE DAM RESERVOIR

This is due from the water having a way to bypass the dam. The dam itself does not leak. The issue is this...

KIMG0788.JPG

So, what is that exactly? Well it's a picture of the north side of the dam and to the right of it in the picture is an old stump from a tree long since passed... probably dead a hundred years. That's why you can't distinguish the stump from the ground... because it's pretty much just returned to dirt.

KIMG0789.JPG
*Poor picture, I know, please forgive me.

The picture above is supposed to show the water leaking out of the roots that are still barely there. So with the stump being behind the wall by several feet, the only conclusion to how it's leaking, must be because the old root system passes below the foundation of the dam, and since it is all but completely gone and is acting like an underground pipe.

...SO HOW CLOSE IS IT?...

KIMG0796.JPG


KIMG0798.JPG

Really darn close!....as you can see in the pictures above. While I expected some issues, I was quite surprised by this one.

NOT REALLY A BIG DEAL...

I had just not expected that any leak we had would be as large as this one...as it is bad enough that the reservoir won't actually fill all the way.🤦😁😂🤣

So, my expectation is that once I dig all the topsoil out of the area underwater, I will easily discover the root cause of this.(🤣😂🤣pun intended) Even if I don't see anything definitive, after the soil is removed, the entirety of the reservoir will be lined with a foot of blue clay which will act as a lid and seal to any holes left by the old root system and allow me to fill the reservoir completely.💪💪

SO IT STARTS...

I have began removing the topsoil from the reservoir already. The work is not bad, as I simply fill the reservoir and allow it to saturate and soften the topsoil, then drain, and dig. So far I've not found anything suspect, so I will continue scalping the topsoil.

KIMG0799.JPG
*Another great picture, I know.😒😁

In any case, I'll keep you all posted on my findings and how it's going. But un the meantime I'm diving even deeper into water turbines thanks to the wealth of information shared by @jacobpeacock. Thanks dear brother!🤗🤗

ANYONE UP FOR SOME PICTURES OF ONREE AND SIMBA???

I know, stupid question. So without further adieu...

KIMG0732.JPG
*Invading the reservoir.😂

KIMG0764.JPG
*After his first fight with the bobcat.💪🙀🐆

KIMG0771.JPG
*Looking for scraps as I prepare our meal our an open fire.(the only way we cook right now.🤤😁)

KIMG0775.JPG
*Laying in front of the house after dark, ready to kill, or be killed by any threat that may present itself... I'm very serious about that, as he does not tolerate any nonsense after dark.

A QUICK WORD TO MY BEAUTIFUL CHILDREN AND TO YOU ALL IN GENERAL

Don't let the things in life come between yous or any of your family. But at the same time, let ever let anyone steamroll you. Be it the world and it's way...or your closest family member, or even your spouse. Only through your own true happiness and love can you transfer true happiness and love into the world. Be careful to safeguard your happiness and love for life. Do not allow it to be stolen, drained or even misplaced. Keep your energies focused, and on point and do your best to use your love and happiness to exact the change this world so desperately needs. I love yous so much and I want nothing more for each of you to achieve the same level of love and happiness I have found....and then use it to make the world a more beautiful place. Don't focus on money, wealth, fame, worldly success, or any other traps that may be laid down before you, for none of these things matter without love and happiness.




Thanks everyone for giving me a bit of your most valuable thing....your time. I truly appreciate it, and I wish you all the best of life, filled with love and happiness.

Sort:  

Glad to have helped @johndoer123!

Also... yup once you get that blue clay installed that leakage problem will most likely disappear!

Cheers and whoa that dam and reservoir system is looking good!

Thanks for the words of encouragement and all you do dear brother!🤗 You won't believe what I found once I started digging. I'll give you a small preview...

KIMG0801.JPG
That's one big root! And hopefully the last of it's size that i find, as it took almost the whole day to dig it out.😁😅🥵🥵😂

You are quite welcome @johndoer123 ! Yeah that is quite the root there. If you have access to compressed air or a pressure washer you can use either/or to remove all the soil around the root (or stump) without having to do a bunch of digging.

Ideally an 'air spade' is what you want but they can be pricey. You can fabricate one also so maybe look into them. Here is an example of an air spade:

Cheers!

I just hope you'll completely deal with the dam so that it will stop disturbing you and your environment. I love the advice you showed at the end of this post.

Soon enough I will have won this battle my friend. All it takes is a little work, patience and perseverance. I'm glad you enjoyed the advice I shared. I hope my kiddos will do the same some day.🤗

You're doing a great job here, I must commed your effort dear friend. I just hope you get to fix the problem completely very soon.

Hope you can get the issue sorted without to much trouble.