MY TAKE AND EXPERIENCE IN SOILLESS FARMING

in Homesteading2 years ago

Greetings to hive community, after 3 months of training on how to practice Soilless farming Its such a great pleasure and experience to be around great minds over the course of 3 month learning and tapping into new ideas, it almost seems like it shouldn't end but what's the essence of acquiring new skills if it's not put into use?

IMG-20220919-WA0171.jpg

I cant think of any better way to appreciate my teachers for this life changing opportunity that I'm about venture into going forward than sharing my experiences with you all.

After a Whatsapp chat with my friend as far back march 2022, I made the decision to go for this training regarding soilless farming.

When I started I was wowed with beautiful and creative ways of growing crops,imagine growing crops without the presence of soil.

Come to think of the benefits, the less hands needed for daily labour,the eradication of pest and diseases and a whole lot of improvement it brings.

IMG-20220919-WA0164.jpg

Now let get into it, Firstly let get to understand what we meant by soiless farming. # SOILLESS FARMING IS THE FARMING SYSTEM WHEREBY SOIL IS NOT REQUIRE OR NEEDED TO GROW YOUR CROPS.Soiless farming simply put is a way of growing crops without the need for soil, soilless farming is not adopted to replace or eradicate soil farming rather to compliment it.

IMG-20220919-WA0165.jpg

The method use or should I say one of the method used in soilless farming is called Hydroponics a type of horticulture in hydroculture which involves growing plants mostly crops without the presence or the need for soil by using water based mineral nutrients solution in aqueous solvent.

There are other method or ways to practice Soilless farming which are Aeroponics and Aquaponics
Aeroponics is way or method of growing plants in air or mist environment without the use of soil.

Screenshot_20220928-200720_1.jpg

During my course I was enlightened on the importance or let say advantages of Soilless farming which are pretty cool.

1.One of the main advantages of Soilless farming is that it's a sustainable agricultural practice because the system is not in need of soil to grow crops.

2.Another advantage of Soilless farming is brings about higher yields.

3.High production or output quality
4.it helps to control emissions of nutrients and plant protection products.
5.It eradicate and control plant pest and diseases.

IMG-20220919-WA0170.jpg

During field lecturing my strength was put to test, I normally fill each crates with harvested tomatoes and peppers,i gladly do them considering all I have learnt and fund spent to acquire this knowledge and skills.

IMG-20220919-WA0168.jpg

On a yearly basis the practice of Soilless farming increases because it's a method that has been put to test, proven and labeled Good.

Thanks for reading my blog post,i hope you have learnt one or two as regards the topic, I look forward to your likes and comment moreso seeing you around.Thanks 😍 Gracias 🥰

Sort:  

wow this a very good skill you've acquired, and am glad you're putting it into use already. Good job dear friend, keep up the good work.