You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tales from the Poultry Front

in Homesteading2 years ago

We don't really do them on a big enough scale to warrant getting a mincer, but that's an option for tough meat I've not come across before. We go through a lot of lamb mince, as well.

At this time of year we use the pressure cooker for stock, so they don't need more than a few hours. In winter we can put the cast iron pot on the woodburner for the day.

Sort:  

Do you use vinegar in the stock to leach out the minerals, etc? If you used the cast iron, the vinegar probably would not be good for it.

I haven't heard of that before, so no. By the time I'm done the bones are pretty much crumbling, so I figured I'd got the best from them. Yes, probably not a good idea with the cast iron.