You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Losing Focus and Trying to Find Order

in Homesteading2 years ago

Also down to the attitude of the family, if you know what I mean. A certain someone has to be the most important in the situation and I'm just trying to help hubby through dealing with the paperwork side and that someone.

Interestingly I was having a conversation with someone recently about how we deal with death in the western world by shutting it away. It was along another vein, but his descriptions of how the Filipinos do it certainly opens it up for everyone to be a part of the grieving process.

Sort:  

Oh, for sure. Every family has their own way too.

When my grandmother passed away - one of the few family members who I think actually loved me, there aren't many - we were at her funeral service and I was crying and my aunt turned around and said "I thought I would be the only one crying."

I genuinely was like, what??!

Seven children and many grandchildren and you thought you were going to be the only one crying. Hooooooooookay.

I didn't say anything about it, but my mind is still blown to this day.

Not sure I'll ever really understand people... or families for that matter.