Finding a quick local Solution to keep away lizards and pest from destroying the growing Vegetables Seedlings in the garden

in Homesteading20 days ago (edited)

Hello Hive

Screenshot_20240419-082146.jpg

After lamenting yesterday about the massive destruction of my germinating veggies, I tenderered the complain before two local farmers and this was the suggestive solution I got. The local way to keep away insects and lizards is to spread enough quantity of ashes over the vegetables, this will serve as a camouflage for the veggies which the lizards feast on or even probably make it unfit for them to consume.
Having been told to do this I kept wondering if this method will work until my friends told me that it was the systems that they have been using for a very long time now.

Well in the modern day method there are chemicals and insecticide that we use in the farm especially for our beans which is usually infested but I'm trying to totally avoid the use of such chemicals in the garden here.

Getting ashes this morning was very easy since I use a charcoal stove
All I did was to bring this out and spray a good amount of it over the veggies

IMG_4660.jpeg

IMG_4675.jpeg


IMG_4662.jpeg

Funny enough one thing I had noticed was that even though I have planted two different species of the veggies the lizards enjoyed eating only one of the species leaving the other.
This other species of the vegetable has been left unharmed while the other part is now 70% destroyed.

IMG_4650.jpeg


IMG_4651.jpeg

Paradvebture the ashes becomes a good solution I may have to purchase new seeds to replant this specie all over again. Only that the seeds are difficult to come by since they are Agric engineered seeds.
And then again I also got some used nets that will be very useful to form a barricade. I am yet to see the lizards eating these veggies but the massive destruction is evident

IMG_4679.jpeg


IMG_4667.jpeg

The net barricade too should be able to render some help with the veggies assume. I needed to take urgent and drastic steps or else I may not have any grown vegetables here before the heavy rains that will stops all this gardening activities finally comes
And this is just how we learn new things working everyday in the farm or in the garden
I'm waiting to see the progress with ashes as from tomorrow to know if this is effective.

IMG_4674.jpeg

That's is for today.
Thank you.