Jute mallow are ready for harvest , Measuring veggies growth , Watering down fertilizer , Planting Water leaf and African Spinach

in Homesteading14 days ago (edited)

Screenshot_20240509-124806.jpg

Let me start the days blog on a positive note and yesssssssss the Jute mallow are ready for harvest. I'm exactly a month and two weeks we can enjoy some fresh and green veggies here

Screenshot_20240509-124833.jpg

Today has been going very well for me after a series of ups and downs, and my body is demanding some rest. Sometimes we push ourselves so hard, forgetting that our bodies are not like machines and will break down if we subject them to so much pressure.

I have prepared a to-do list of tasks to be done in the garden today before heading to the commercial land spot, where we have been planting some corn and soy beans for about 6 days now. Maize is known to start germinating after 7 days of planting, while soy beans are known to take at least 6–10 days. It's been six days since we planted both species, and I want to catch up with the things over there.

Screenshot_20240503-134226.jpg

After planting, we had a slight shower of rain. Planting seeds after rainfall is usually a blessing because the seeds absorb the moisture almost immediately to begin their germination process. But sometimes one can get so unlucky that after planting seeds, there will be no rain, and the germination of the seeds becomes sparse and not uniform. It's been. Six days later, we carried out our own planting, but there has not been rainfall since then, although the ground was wet with a shower a few days prior to that time.

Screenshot_20240509-125145.jpg

Nevertheless, with a bit of extreme weakness, I was only able to water the garden because yesterday I added some fertilizer to the Lagos spinach and also planted the fluted pumpkins.

Screenshot_20240508-122341.jpg

After adding fertilizer to any crop, it is required that one carry out a good number of sessions wetting the plant due to the following reasons:.

  • Watering will dissolve the fertilizer into the soil.

  • Watering prevents the veggies from getting burned out because of the introduced concentration of nutrients. Vegetables and crops can get burned if they get exposed to excess nutrients suddenly. Wetting the veggies dissolves the fertilizer into the soil, and from there, the veggies can absorb tiny portions of the nutrients as needed. Constant wetting for at least a week is required here. I have known this right from when my mom used to plant chilli 🌶️. After Adding fertilizer, we often wet every strand of the pepper, and I have seen some get burnt out from adding too much fertilizers.

Adding fertilizer to plants must be done in certain measurements because too much concentration of fertilizer can cause vegetables and crops to burn out in the shortest possible time.

After watering the plants, i then proceeded to plant the African spinach that was destroyed by that pest infestation.

Screenshot_20240509-125041.jpg

Screenshot_20240509-125115.jpg

First, I cleared out the place and removed the rotten veggies.

I dug up the soil a bit and had it properly wet, then I spread the newly bought seeds over that portion.

Screenshot_20240509-125056.jpg

I also noticed that the water leaf plant is giving me some seed pods, and while I have just a single bunch of them here, having the water produce some seed is good for me at this time.

Screenshot_20240509-124919.jpg

Screenshot_20240509-125000.jpg

I broke some of the pods to see if the seeds were ripe, and behold, they were. Unripe seeds are usually greenish and watery, while this one is dark and the pod is strong. Plucking out the other pods, I equally spread them here, hoping that they will equally germinate and I will have more veggies in the garden.

Screenshot_20240509-124942.jpg

Guess what? My jute mallows are ready for harvest. As of today, it measures about 7 inches in height, and the green veggies look great and ready our traditional soups. If you happen to pass by Tanke and are in need of some veggies for soup, you can pick some up from me.

Screenshot_20240509-124847.jpg

Screenshot_20240509-124833.jpg

That is the bulk of how the days of garden activities went; hopefully there will not be much to do here by tomorrow, and it will be a good time to visit the larger farm.

All images are mine

Posted Using InLeo Alpha