[Blog #91] The Road to Homesteading

in Homesteading2 years ago

Heeeyho Readers! Let's talk about homesteading!


Ever since we started the ranch endeavor, I've never really addressed how traveling-hobo Mr.P got into homesteading. In the grand scheme of the self-sufficient lifestyle — from where the homesteading lifestyle derives from —, the experience I had with the term was none, although seeking a level of freedom was always on my radar.

To celebrate the Homesteading community taking part in the OCD Community Incubation Program, I though it would be interesting to talk about how I define the term and how the heck I got into this lifestyle anyway. Leeeeees go!

20220411_130037.jpg

Grandpa's old cart


The term homesteading intrigues me as Portuguese-speaking person. There isn't a proper translation to the word — some Brazilian sources use the English word; others derive the term into translations with different meanings (E.g. ecovilas or ecopropriedade, meaning ecoproperty). None really express the essence of what homesteading is or what a homesteader does. How come a word be a noum and a verb?

The best definition I could find comes from various sources stating the same, as below.

Homesteading is a lifestyle of self-sufficiency. It is characterized by subsistence agriculture, home preservation of food, and may also involve the small scale production of textiles, clothing, and craft work for household use or sale.Wikipedia

Homesteading is a spectrum. Ultimately, the broadest definition is that it is a lifestyle with a commitment to self-sufficiency. This can encompass growing and preserving food; providing your own electricity with solar, wind or water; and even making your own fabric and clothing.TreeHugger

In a way or another, I believe homesteading people share the same fundamental values. It comes down to finding the means to achieve a more meaningful life, without the material worries of the urban living. Might be the case of seeking a healthier lifestyle. Or a way to get off the grid and live independent from the government. Others may be coming to homesteading with nothing but a desire to build a stronghold for the future uncertainties. There are many diverse reasons for wanting to homestead. I'd say freedom is the goal.

Chalten.jpg

Seeking freedom in Patagonia


Mr.P goes homesteading

My exploration into the pursuit of freedom led to discovering homesteading. I've grown in my grandparents farm, but never really lived the lifestyle other than spending school holidays goofing around in the field — that's most of my childhood. There goes the Earth around the Sun and good ole Mr.P discovers the engineering life isn't for him: working 9 to 5, spending time in traffic, eating junk food. No, thanks! I start to get into traveling and studying the function of money, Austrian School of Economics, Bitcoin, Libertarianism, et cetera. One subject leads to the other.

To cut story short... last year my Dad (who is a homestead for many years, though he doesn't know) decides to move to a property closer to the city. We start talking about economics philosophy, off-the-grid life and, ultimately, conversations lead to rants on how the country is going down to shit. We are lucky to have a piece of land. Our goal is to build a property immune to crisis. Dad had already sustained his life for years in the previous property, exchanging production for other essential goods.

For us, homesteading is all about self-sufficiency. It’s about using less energy, eating wholesome food, immersing ourselves in the local community, preserving nature, stepping away from the government. After traveling several countries, I come to the conclusion that life is impossible without a strong community, family union, decentralization, ethics, and a piece of land to provide for ourselves in times of crisis. Whatever comes our way, we shall be prepared.

What is homesteading for you?

Peace.


Did you know that I have a book out? Check this!

Access Link: https://www.amazon.com/dp/6500272773?

Sem Título-2.jpg


If you enjoyed this post consider leaving your upvote for a hot coffee.

Find me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/mrprofessor_

~Love ya all,


Disclaimer: The author of this post is a convict broke backpacker, who has travelled more than 10.000 km hitchhiking and more than 5.000 km cycling. Following him may cause severe problems of wanderlust and inquietud. You've been warned.


I'm Arthur. I blog about Adventure Stories, Brazil, Travel, Camping, & Life Experiences.

Follow me to stay tuned for more craziness and tips.

Sort:  

"For us, homesteading is all about self-sufficiency. It’s about using less energy, eating wholesome food, immersing ourselves in the local community, preserving nature, stepping away from the government. After traveling several countries, I come to the conclusion that life is impossible without a strong community, family union, decentralization, ethics, and a piece of land to provide for ourselves in times of crisis. Whatever comes our way, we shall be prepared."

Exactly! Beautifully said :)

And friends! Forgot to mention that. We need to preserve our friends. Thanks for the comment and for being my friend.

Likewise amigo! :)

Saw this and thought of you..

FB_IMG_1657537055677.jpg

untitled.gif

That's when we grab the table and flip.

A wonderful, thoughtful post!

Homesteading is definitely freedom for me. I've always had a desire to be able to live independent of society, and being able to provide your own food is the biggest step in gaining that independence!

Thank you for the comment. I'd say society isn't really the problem; the government is! What I like about living in a ranch is that the community is (generally) friendly and united. We don't see that as much in the city these days. And then, of course, homesteading makes us immune to crisis and less worried about inflation.

I thought you hadn't been out there in a month? 😂😂😜. seriously though it's great you are helping Dad out

Cannot deny! I wanted to add a mention in the text that my Dad is the driver as I'm the passenger, but ended up forgetting or not finding where to include \o\

Wow. This is a very brilliant and insightful posts. I just wish the admins can pin this so other newcomers in this community can read. It will give them a good answer to the question "what really is homesteading? ".

Thanks @mrprofessor for this insightful posts. God bless you

Thank you, @luckydrums! I had to do a bit of research indeed as I didn't know what homesteading is -- no such translation to my language.

God bless you too, my friend.

Reading a book called Black Autumn at the moment and it's all about homesteading after a nuclear attack on the states. Scary stuff.

Oh, gotta check that! There's one Brazilian homestead that's preparing for a nuclear disaster building a bomb-proof bunker. I'm not sure if I should go that far, but who knows... in our crazy world everything is possible


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @mrprofessor ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

my Dad (who is a homestead for many years, though he doesn't know)

Haha, so true! We call ourselves homestead, artisan, traveler or whatever, in older times they were all that and many more just without the label :)

Last paragraph got me covered!