You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Learning to use my new sawmill

in Homesteading2 years ago

I think that pretty much any metal detector will indeed work. I've used the 'beachcomber' style ones to find nails in logs before, but they're a little awkward. Wand style is what I would like to build, and I'm pretty sure I have all the stuff I need. All my electronics skills are a bit rusty, though, so I'm going to have to do some research first. Hopefully, I won't find any more nails and I can worry about it more next winter!

Sort:  

Yeah I have not looked at building one for a long time. They seemed pretty straightforward though. Alternatively looking at buying some damaged ones and then effecting repairs is a good option.

It would be pretty cool if a metal detector was mounted on the mill or the power-head in front of the blade.

I guess a workaround for now is maybe to make the edge cuts with the damaged blade and then swap for a better one afterwards.

I feel pretty confident going forward without checking them too thoroughly. I saved these logs for the bandsaw mill because they are thinner, and the reason they are thinner is that most of them are from the upper upper parts of the trees... over 30' above ground. The only metal I'm likely to encounter that high up in the tree is lead :D