You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Keeping the sawmill fed

in Homesteading2 years ago

Looks like you could benefit from a tractor of some kind to help move these logs around. Seeing as you live on a hillside, I highly recommend that if you do get a tractor, ponying up the extra cash to get something that's 4x4. Also, the higher horse compact tractors won't typically do more work than the sub-30hp tractors of the same size, they're just a bit faster, so they're not usually worth the extra money depending on what you're doing with them. I'm sure you're budget limited but something to think about.

Sort:  

I've thought about it quite a bit, my main problem right now is that I don't have access to get a tractor to the places I would need it. My efforts to build usable roads on the property will be shown in a future 'Gardening on a slope...' post.

The paths I have right now are just big enough for my 3 wheeler, but my 3 wheeler isn't nearly big enough to pull any of these logs.

That's exactly the catalyst that prompted me to get a tractor. Couldn't move some medium sized logs I had on the property with my zero turn mower. I had other reasons to want one but that was the last straw for me. Love my little Kioti now that it's running. Thing punches way above its weight.

Snatchblocks dear freind. If you can keep them near 30 degrees to the load, you can cut the pull weight needed in half...for every block you add!
I used my suzuki300 2x4 four wheeler to move a lot of my logs. I moved logs that weighed 1000 pounds or so with it. Two snatchblocks alone make a 1000 pound log pull into a 250 pound pull. Add a third and all your pulling is around 125. They are amazing peices of old technology. I wish you the best.
KIMG3838.JPG
*Some of the logs moved(all pulled up a steep hill). They are oak posts, all 156 inches long and from 14-20 thick...and all heavy as heck.😂😂

KIMG3839.JPG
*The four wheeler that pulled them.(being used as a concrete mix station in this picture 😁) i apparently dont have any pictures of actually pulling the logs though.😞😁

I've been wanting to acquire some snatch blocks and good cable for a long time. They will be first on my shopping list, once my Tractor Supply Co. credit is paid back down a bit.