You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Tales from the Poultry Front

in Homesteading2 years ago

I didn't know you had quails and pigeons. Also, how much land do you have? A few things I didn't realise! Including you needed a boundary there. Looks good with one and yes some space for the rabbits to explore.

I just gave away two roosters. As much as I've read about it on HIVE and steeled myself to do it, I just couldn't manage. At all. Jamie suggests I'd find the courage if I was starving. Until then, I'm not eating chicken. If I can't kill it and eat it myself I don't deserve it - I'm part of the problem. I offered them on Facebook and my offer was taken up by a lovely Nepali guy. He was going to have chicken soup anyway.

Hm. Can I make chicken and corn soup sans chicken? I'm going to give it a go. I have a craving now!

Sort:  

Will that be just sweetcorn soup? 🤔😆

I struggle with killing the chickens due to their size, so I usually get hubby to do that. The quail and pigeon are much easier physically, but mentally it's never easy.

The house and land is on 750 square metres. Not quite a quarter acre, but not tiny. I still struggle to keep on top of it, so probably don't need much more.

I long for a quarter acre block, surrounded by 100 acres... :P

Oh yes, corn soup, what a dimwit :P