Cleaning the olive trees

in Homesteadinglast month

1000011621.jpg

Rainy season has arrived, forecast shows rain everyday for the rest of the week. The land looks gorgeous when the clouds open for a few minutes letting the sun go through before the rain starts falling again. I could still work on the quinta under the rain, but I my intention is to enjoy farm work as a hobby, I am not obsessed about getting the most production. Before heavy rain came back I had enough time to take care of a couple of branches the tractor driver broke while mowing the grass last week.

1000011622.jpg

1000011623.jpg

It is extremally relaxing to work physically outdoors i stead of sitting in front of the computer. You only focus on the task you are doing, feel the connection between you an the trees and enjoy the task of taking care of your small piece of nature.

1000011624.jpg

The previous owners used to prune only half of the quinta every year, they told me it was a way to get more olives and olive oil. This is the reason the trees on the east side have way more new small branches to be taken care of. The two images below show the same tree before and after pruning.

1000011635.jpg

1000011636.jpg

I finally decided to cut some of the branches and keep the wood not for this one, but for next winter, we still need to get a fire wood stove, we are running a gas one, plus, the wood needs to dry.

1000011626.jpg

Before getting into the car, I took another shot of the land around the farm. The area, the colours and the scenery are like a magnet requesting me to capture the image to bring back home

1000011654.jpg