Adding filters and filling in gaps in the green house

in Homesteadinglast month

Now I have more ventilation going into the green house, I need to make sure wasps and other nest building insects do not try to move in. I thought about how to accomplish this for awhile and figured I could use magnets and window screen. Since I built the vent frame out of steel, using powerful enough magnets should hold the screen tight and keep bugs out.

I can easily replace this screen if it gets ripped, just remove the magnets and place a new screen and put back the magnets.

Bought a stack of these powerful magnets on amazon, they come with spacers so you can get apart easily. You need to be careful putting back together if you unstack them.. if pressed together too quickly they will crack. So they give you spacers to make it easier to slide them apart.

With the fans going its a lot nicer working inside the green house, lol... I added foam around the edges of the fan to keep insects out. The fans are spinning much faster than it appears in the gif. But we can see how the shutters raise and lower as the air flow changes.

I place one magnet and make sure this is how I want to do this. Its great the steel frame is close enough for the magnets to grab and hold the screening in place.

Placing more I can cover the gaps and make sure this will be insect proof. Not sure it will stop any animals from clawing at the screen but will need to keep an eye on it and see if anything tries to get in.

Since this green house has paneling with ridges in it, had to figure out how to fill those in, so using a window screen made sense.

Luckily these fans have shutters that close when not in use, and while the fan is spinning I do not think any insect will attempt to make its way in. But we shall see and I can adapt as needed. Worst comes to worst I just need to build a box over the outside fan with a screen around it.

I will need to keep an eye on this screen, some insects can cut through it. Or possibly some squirrel or bigger animal may try.. So we shall see how it all works out long term.

Seems like my current solar array is handling the two fans well. I may need to add another battery to the array when I start using the misters full time, but for now its all working well and I am pulling more watts from the sun than consuming which is good. But it has been mostly sunny days, so on cloudy hot days I may need more reserve power in the battery bank.

Glad the green house is coming along. Soon I will get a more permanent water supply, so I can run the misters for as much as I need and not need to worry about refilling barrels of water. Though its still too cold to start plants outside, the green house is coming along and will be read for them when it comes time in about a month.

Sort:  

That's pretty awesome. It's kind of crazy how having a good magnet can solve a lot of problems these days. It's almost like magnets are the new duct tape! I had a cabinet in our travel trailer that I could not get to stay shut. I grabbed a couple magnets and metal plates from an old hard drive I had torn apart and boom, it's been fixed ever since!

Hah yeah it does kind of feel like a duct tape solution. Ah nice that is a good fix. Magnets have so many good uses.

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share more than 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators in the form of IUC tokens. HP delegators and IUC token holders also get upto 20% additional vote weight.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

image.png

100% of the rewards from this comment goes to the curator for their manual curation efforts. Please encourage the curator @steemflow by upvoting this comment and support the community by voting the posts made by @indiaunited.

Without a doubt, it is a practical solution to prevent insects and other vermin from entering the greenhouse, dear friend @solominer
I love your creative solutions. Have a happy and prosperous week

Thanks, I will keep an eye on the screen and see if it all works out.

Much appreciated, you too.

The magnets are a clever touch! Im going to have to try and remember that for if I ever manage to snag an acreage and leave my town property!

Hah thanks man, hopefully you get your acreage soon.

The halving is coming, so you may just get what you want.

We will see! lol here's hoping!

Good solution using creativity. These magnets seem to be good; I've used smaller yet very powerful ones for other purposes, and it's almost impossible to remove them. Yours seem to be more practical for handling.

Hopefully they work out, yeah I have seen those powerful ones.. Not only they get stuck they usually crack with the force they clang together.

Mine are powerful, but still forgiving.. seems like just enough to hold the screen in place.

Yes, those seem perfect and will serve you very well!

It's great that you've treated it so that insects can't get in.Recently it has been quite hot in my area so I also want to install a fan like that. I only have a normal fan in the room but it still feels quite hot...Hope you always have a nice day.

Yep, those insects always want to get in.. so hopefully it will help.

Oh cool, well hope you get one set up.

Thanks man, hope you do too.

Good friend.. always the best for you and also for the family there.🍻🤝👍

Some insects can cut through it, say what?

untitled.gif

Damn that thing looks mean. Yeah I figure some can, if I need to I guess I can upgrade to kevlar screen.. lol

I am sure they also make a fine steel mesh I could use too. but it would not conform well to the ridges.

Make it safe to a degree that you don't have to check again anytime soon, life is too short for stuff like that.

Your greenhouse is amazing mate, it took you a while to do it, but the results of your dedication are very cool, the idea of the magnets on the flails is sensational, you can change the flail very easily without any effort.

Thanks man, yeah it will be cool if these magnets do the trick.

BRroooooo is this a trial contruction for the Habitats being sent to mars?

So much infrastructure and equipment. Filter for insects! Fan too! Ohh my god. So fancy, even better than my Stone Bunker. But hey at least i will survive a nuclear fallout if one happens in the South China Sea.

Hah, its hard enough growing plants on earth.. I will stick around here.. lol

lol yeah its no stone construction that is for sure.

Grrrrr, they shall become big and stronk.

I used ridged poly panels for cold frame covers and they make soft foam insulation that just fits the curves. Maybe something similar is available for your panels?

Yeah I used a soft foam and stuffed it between the ridges, its the stuff you fill in gaps of a window mount AC unit and seemed to work well. I guess time will tell how well it holds up.

Mine is only in use from April to October and has stood up for well over 5 years. Hope yours works as well.

Wow! This is wonderful 😊