Making a Candle from Leftover Candles

in Homesteading4 years ago

There were a few jobs last weekend where I thought to myself 'there are easier ways to make money'.

First we spend a hour or so cleaning a trug bucket we picked up during council clean up. It was caked in dried cement mix.

I spent 20 minutes adding cross wire to a rack for a fire bucket we didn't have. I spent another 20 minutes pulling apart a broken light fitting to use as a fire pit.

And then I spent maybe 40 minutes combining the end of four candles into a new single candle.

BUT
a) it's not ALL about the money, reducing waste is important to me. What would happen if I'd thrown the candles away? They'd have gone to landfill and taken up space they didn't need to and the glass wouldn't have been recycled.
b) I wasn't using time that I could be working, my work isn't unlimited, and I like my weekends to generally be work free. Though I do work for myself so it is a choice.

So, we walked around the council clean up looking for things we could use and the make shift fire pit worked and I made myself a candle from the leftovers.
0BD1898F3FB54F32AA3C7F9E161950C6.jpeg

I first needed a new wick so took pulled out the wick holder from one of the candles, unsquashed the metal tip and added a double wick of bailing twine. And then held it up with wooden sticks and a rubber band.
67EEC2F84E0D42738B6A04E3EB4DF3B7.jpeg

Then I cleaned up the candles a bit, removing the smoke from the glass and the blackened bits of the candles.
AFAEB3EEC3E44150B5051BF0DD6582AE.jpeg

I then melted the leftover wax, dipping the bailing twine in wax and then added a few drops to hold down the wick in the shorted glass. Then I waited for the rest of the wax to melt giving myself a facial at the same time.
0E9A09F14A0748DFB8248F64998E4F56.jpeg

0762E5AA472B43CD8CA54BAD00B93644.jpeg

Now its set fully it burns okay. I don't really mind what it looks like because I use it in the dark. It's a candle. But there might be a few fragrances in there that don't mesh
AE5430F36CDD492DB0DBF0EF50A4E0FC.jpeg

Sort:  

Congratulations @springworth! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 300 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 400 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP