Canning Spicy Peach & Corn Salsa - by Sunscape

in Homesteadinglast year

hive-garden-corn-salsa-4.jpg

Fresh corn on the cob is coming to an end soon for the season. Also, the peaches are at a peak so guess what I did, yup, I made some tasty salsa.

First I prepared the corn by blanching it for 6 minutes, cooling it in an ice bath, and then cutting it off the cob. I brought a pan of water to a boil and dropped the peaches in for 1 minute, then I put them in cold water so the skins would peel off easily. Now, I was ready to continue with the recipe below.

hive-garden-corn-salsa.jpg

Corn and Peach Salsa

Yields 6 - I/2 pint jars / 250 - mL

1/4 cup (60 mL) apple cider vinegar
1/4 cup (60 mL) lime juice
3 Tbsp. (45 mL) chopped canned chipotle pepper in adobo sauce
2 Tbsp. (30 mL) maple syrup
2 tsp. (10 mL) kosher salt
1 tsp. (5 mL) chopped fresh thyme
1 1/2 lbs. ( 750 g ) peaches peeled, pitted, and finely chopped
3 1/3 cups (825 mL) fresh or frozen corn kernels
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 cup (250 mL) finely chopped red bell pepper
2 Tbsp. (10 mL) chopped cilantro (optional)

  1. Combine all ingredients in a 6 - qt (6 L) kettle. Bring to a boil, reduce heat to medium-low for 5 minutes until heated through, stirring often.
  2. Ladle hot salsa into hot, sterilized jars, leaving 1/2" (1cm) headspace. Remove bubbles, wipe jar rim, and apply lids and bands finger tight only. Do not over-tighten bands.
  3. Process jars for 15 minutes in a water bath canner. If needed, adjust the time for your prescribed altitude.
  • Recipe source: The all-new Ball Book of Canning and Preserving

    hive-garden-corn-salsa-1.jpg

    After everything is chopped up bring to a boil and then simmer for 5 minutes.

    corn.jpg

    hive-garden-corn-salsa2.jpg

    The salsa is now ready to be jarred and processed in a water-bath canner for 15 minutes. Simple and easy for any beginner to preserve the produce that is currently in season.

    hive-garden-corn-salsa9.jpg

    The combination of the peaches, corn, and chipotle peppers made this an all-time favorite. This is definitely a must for my pantry cupboard that I will make for years to come. I hope you will give it a try and enjoy it as much as I do.

    Until next time, this is Sunscape
    Sun. Scape. Ing Your Day

3- sun smile.jpg

Sort:  

I will definitely come back to your recipe.
I love all decoctions of all kinds. Looks appetizing!

Thank you, I am sure you will love this recipe.

I have everything I need for this, even organic corn on the cob, except the peaches. One short trip to a farm stand, and I'll be making this. Thanks!!!!

I am so happy you will be trying this salsa recipe, it is truly delicious.

It sounds really good!!! Different too. I like different.

Manually curated by ewkaw from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you once again for the continued support.

Wow, It's looks tasty 🤤.Is it good for chips?

Absolutely, we use it with corn chips, the salsa is so tasty.

The colors look so nice in the jar! Bet it tastes wonderful!

Thanks, the corn salsa was outstanding, a little on the hot side, but we don't mind some heat. Hope you are feeling better.