You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Last Wrestling Tournament, Fire, RADISH HARVEST, Grilling - Saturday

in Homesteading2 months ago

Despite not finishing 3rd, you must be a proud dad. Wrestling is very demanding and for your boy to continue despite having an injured arm says a lot about him.

Glad to see that his being upset was squashed after purchasing some Pokémon cards. That worked now, but if he continues to wrestle, which I imagine he will, it may cost you a few more bucks in the future if he loses. 😁
I've said this before, but I'll say it again anyway, I love seeing kids being helpful around the homestead. Having chores builds character. In these times giving a kid some chores seems to be a thing of the past. All too frequently I hear parents say, "It's easier to do it myself rather than argue over it" In my book that's just poor parenting. My dad was in the armed services, a great father, and when he said it was time to do something you jumped to attention and got the job done.

Love radishes, I'm jealous. 😁
Some impressive stats, especially the number of days you've posted in a row.
How do you do it all, being as busy as you are?

Sort:  

Yeah I'm really proud of him for not quitting. Wrestling is a crazy sport for kids and I remember it well from my childhood. So much chaos at the tournaments. Thankfully the season is short so we won't be needing to spend that much to placate... lol.

Chores are a must for kids, of some kind. It's really obvious which people didn't have them as a kid, I see them all the time in the wild and they stand out. I can empathize with the "just do it myself" as I have the same mentality a lot but it has gotten better as I have enforced the chores rule more.

I am a morning person so am able to get my posts done before the day gets going. Work ethic is a core part of my being.

Flemingfarm could be a camp for teaching kids the responsibilities that should come along with being part of a family. I am sure some parents could pick up a thing or two.

I'm also an early riser, at least the body gets out of bed early, and the mind tends to want to sleep in.

Have a great day.